Freeview Signal/Reception

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by UnknownSoldier, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. UnknownSoldier

    UnknownSoldier
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, Being a nice son I brought my old girl, sorry, Mum a freeview box so that she can watch untold repeats. Only to find that when I set it up it only received the BBC channels & the rest of the channels were all very blocky. I can only persume that this blockyness is caused by a weak signal, but the reason I got her the freeview box was because I tested my box round her house & the signal was fine, but now with a different box make the picture is very poor. What options are open to me?
    Cheers for your help.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The best bet would be to get a better aerial installed, because the signals are obviously borderline.
     
  3. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,949
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +270
    Agree with Nick on this one, but it is worth noting that some boxes are worse effected by poor signals than others.

    The Sony box is one that is noted to be good with poor signals.
     
  4. UnknownSoldier

    UnknownSoldier
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    When you say the aerial, would it be worth my will replacing the aerial cabling from the box to the aerial (located in the loft) first because that cabling has been there since I was a lad :) . Is there any sort of booster available?
     
  5. zetecuk

    zetecuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try fitting a booster in the loft as close to the aerial as possible, also make sure the cable is in good condition with no joins if possible - worked for me.
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Loft aerials are not good for Freeview unless you're very close to the transmitter, because they pick up interference from inside the house and vehicles in the street that would otherwise be screened by the roof. Adding an amplifier to a bad aerial will amplify the interference too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...