Freeview Signal Problems - Sony KDL20S3000 with in-built digital tuner

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Dteagle, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Dteagle

    Dteagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Sony KDL20S3000 in my room which I recently connected to an aerial via 10m cable (the cable runs from the TV, across my room and into an aerial socket in the wal of my room - I live in a second floor apartment so the socket in my room is from a shared aerial on my apartment building). This was probably in early December.

    I performed the automatic digital tuning and it all worked completely fine for a while. However, I began experiencing problems with the signal on some channels. It is either usually partial or complete loss of signal. The main culprits are usually the BBC channels, Sky Sports News, E4+1, plus a couple of others and possibly some other channels that I haven't noticed are missing.

    I tried re-scanning for channels with varying degrees of success. Usually the channels remained missing. After a while the channels re-appeared with what appeared to be full signal strength, and everything was fine for a while, but recently the problems have started again. They have lasted around a week now. I am guessing it is due to one of the following reasons:

    A) There is work being done on the transmitter (probably Winter Hill - here are my wolfbane results which I don't really understand! UK digital TV reception predictor)

    B) There is some problem with the aerial on my building. I would have to try to talk to the caretaker to see if anyone else has reported similar problems.

    C) This doesn't seem likely to me, but could the cable I am using be to blame? Yesterday, E4+1 was tuned in but the signal was very poor. I checked that the aerial was properly connected to my TV, which it was, but whilst I was moving the cable, I experienced a temporary improvement in picture quality. It doesn't seem likely that the cable would be to blame as the majority of channels are fine.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? I am not particularly technically competent unfortunately, so advice offered in Laymans terms would be appreciated!

    Thanks,
    David
     
  2. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    It certainly could be the cable. Try moving the tv close to the aerial point and using a short cable.

    What you describe could just be a seasonal variation or weather, though the 48dBuV/m wolfbane shows is a decent signal, so provided you have a good roof aerial properly distributed you should be OK.

    Neighbour's experience seems a critical issue.

    Do you have line of sight to Winter Hill, from window and/or roof?
     
  3. Geofbob

    Geofbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +304
    The fact that the signal changed when you moved the cable may indicate that it is more to do with the connectors at the ends of the cable rather than the cable itself - eg they may have become loose or the inner & outer cores may be touching. On the other hand, the fact that some channels come through stronger than others seems to point to an aerial defiency, rather than a cable/connection glitch. (Of course, in a worst case scenario, both aerial and cabling might be to blame!)
     
  4. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    Good point Geofbob - when I said "the cable" that was the main thing I had in mind. Though with a marginal digital signal the exact positioning of even a piece of coax can sometimes be critical. I have one TV that works off a freeview box connected to an unsuitable roof aerial via a booster, that will work only if I loop the outlet coax round the input one. I think I create some sort of feedback!
     
  5. Dteagle

    Dteagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am reluctant to move my TV closer to the aerial point because I have a relatively small room and the TV is currently in pretty much the only suitable location in the room, in terms of viewing angle etc.


    I would definitely consider buying a better quality cable though, if that would make a difference, as the one I currently have was fairly cheap from Argos so it might be more susceptible to connector damage/loosening.

    Winter Hill is a good 20 miles from where I live, I would say, but I don't think there are many major obstructions between it and the roof of my building where the aerial is. Of course it is impossible to say for sure.

    I will have a word with the caretaker when I next see him and ask if anyone else is having similar problems.

    In the meantime, I might try to pick up a new cable from somewhere.

    It would have to be at least 6 or 7 metres to make sure I could get it from the aerial socket to the TV. The current one I am using is 10 metres but as I say, it is poor quality. Any recommendations for a particular cable, or is it worth just spending a bit more to ensure superior quality?

    Thanks for your help so far,
    David
     
  6. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    I meant move the TV to try out, not for good!

    There has in the past been a link to a good article on different qualities of coax. If anyone can find it I will put the link on the FAQs
     
  7. Dteagle

    Dteagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah I see!

    Apologies for the misunderstanding.

    I will try that out for certain.

    A recommended type of cable would be greatly appreciated! I will have a quick search myself to see if I can find anything in the forum.
     
  8. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    You could also try a cheap - <£10 - aerial booster - between socket and coax - not other end.

    What's the analogue recepion like?
     
  9. Dteagle

    Dteagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    The analogue signal is poor.
     
  10. scribbler101

    scribbler101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +113
    If analogue poor, digital will be marginal - but a sharp cut off between good and nothing - often differing by frequency.

    Try the amp!
     
  11. Dteagle

    Dteagle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I borrowed my flatmates cable last night, which is much shorter than the one I have been using, and temporarily repositioned my TV. With the shorter cable in place, I experienced no signal problems whatsoever.

    So I'm guessing it's either that the signal becomes attenuated through use of a longer cable, or the quality of the connectors on my cable is inferior to that of the shorter cable.

    I have to say, the shorter cable did seem to fit more firmly into the aerial socket and the socket on the back of my TV. The longer cable feels much flimsier in comparison.

    I think what I will do is go to Maplin or somewhere similar which specialises in equipment like this - rather than Argos which is where my original cable is from - and purchase a better quality cable and also an aerial booster to go between the aerial socket and the coax cable like you suggested Scribbler.

    Thanks for the help, I'll let you know how I get on. If only Maplin opened past 5 so I could go after work! I suppose I could try currys or something.

    Thanks again,
    David
     

Share This Page

Loading...