Freeview picture quality?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by bazzae123, Sep 20, 2003.

  1. bazzae123

    bazzae123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly my apologies if this has already been answered but I couldn't find any info on it.

    The question is, does a Freeview box though an aerial give a better picture than say a Sky digibox for BBC viewing etc?

    Bazza
     
  2. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    Freeview can be excellent if you ware watching in RGB through the scart cable.
     
  3. Arthur Dent

    Arthur Dent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In general terms, I would say that both platforms are about equal. It goes without saying that you should ensure that you can receive Freeview satisfactorily in your area. It's been my experience that you can suffer interference from badly suppressed HT systems on cars when they pass near your aerial, (depends on how it's sited of course). The picture will "freeze" or break up. Having said that, a satellite system can have problems too if it rains very heavily. Conclusion ? You pays your money and you takes your choice !
     
  4. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have both sky(panasonic box) and freeview(netgem box)

    Freeview gives me a better quality picture on all the channels :)
     
  5. narabdela

    narabdela
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Glockamorra
    Ratings:
    +4
    Would have to agree with this. A properly set up Freeview system can have stunning picture quality.

    :smashin: :smashin:
     
  6. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    Especially with me, as analogue siganls are rubbish where I am. I also get rubbish FM signals so I use DAB/freeview radio.
     
  7. cosaw

    cosaw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Stockport, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +19
    Don't have sky, but have a Sony KD-32DX40 with integrated digital tunner which accepts freeview and the picture is almost always excelent.

    cosaw
     
  8. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    Freeview has the best pic and sound of all the platforms,I've tried them all!

    Just watched Blade on BBC 1 and I didn't see any blocking at all,just like a DVD,excellent.Did the BBC crank up the bitrate for Blade?BBC 2 is a lot worse though.
     
  9. cosaw

    cosaw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Stockport, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +19
    Wayne I'd agree with you on blade and the issue of BBC2 in general.

    cosaw
     
  10. bazzae123

    bazzae123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ted26,

    I also have the panny Sky box "TU-DSB30". How much better is Freeview in comparison? Is it a big improvement? I find Sky a bit naff when viewed in widescreen even if the broadcast is 16:9

    Bazza
     
  11. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes it is a major improvement in picture quality :)(netgem box)

    The only problem is it can suffer from interference as arthur stated earlier in this thread.
     
  12. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'd like a Netgem box,can you get them on the hight street and where?
     
  13. ted26

    ted26
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cant help u there m8 :( bought mine online

    Anyone :)
     
  14. Wayne Moule

    Wayne Moule
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +32
  15. resurrected

    resurrected
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John Lewis used to stock the netgem. They also have various other boxes and are usually very willing to demonstrate and let you play. Definitely worth finding your nearest store.

    If you want to try a cheap decent quality box, then Sainsburys are direct importing from the Turkish makers the box that is the innards of the Goodmans GDB3 in a GDB2 case at £50 (Lodos DVB-T3). Worth a try and if you want another box can be relegated to the second TV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...