Freeview..Just got a box! Minor problem

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by gam3r, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. gam3r

    gam3r
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi there, First post :D

    Being within the line of sign to the crystal palace communications tower, and being on a hill i decided to bite the bullet and go for a freeview box. I got your bog standard bush dfta3 - im happy with it so far:clap:

    Now here is the deal. Im using the box in my room, through a indoor aerial that came with my TV and i pick up all the channels. But the thing is when i try watching these channels:

    - E4
    -More4
    -BBC1
    -BBC2
    -ITV 1, 2,3,4
    -Channel 4

    The signal quality is 0 and i get no picture. I think this is probably due to me using a standard indoor tv aerial. To correct this, im going to buy a proper amplified aerial from maplins, which should be ok as i live close to crystal palace.

    Now here is the funny thing.

    I can view E4+1, more4+1 and BBC 3 with no problem at all, signal quality 10/10.

    Weird huh? Why?

    Thank you!
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,568
    It's all down to poor reception on certain "Multiplexes"...have a look at http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/dtt_channels.html and you will see which multiplex each programme uses...you could probably do with a good outside aerial to be sure of good reception.
     
  3. gam3r

    gam3r
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Outside aerial is not a option really..Thanks for the reply :)
     
  4. Andy3

    Andy3
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +19
    gam3r, try moving the aerial around from side to side and back and forward. Just a few inches can often do the trick.
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Reception close to Crystal Palace can be a problem, because CP uses three transmitting aerials, and in some places the signals can cancel each other. In areas close to the mast you will see lots of very small aerials on quite tall poles. Moving the aerial slightly might help, as others have suggested.
     
  6. gam3r

    gam3r
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry i made an error in the first post, i can pick up BBC1 and BBC2 and at nightime i can pick up more4 and e4 with a signal strenght of 1. Looks like a better aerial specialised for freeview(seen a good one at maplins) may do the trick.

    Moving around the aerial doesn't do much for me :(

    Thanks for all the replies people!
     
  7. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
  8. RobbySpurs

    RobbySpurs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2,867
    Slightly on topic and slightly off topic - do some freeview boxes pick up a strong signal better than others? I have a Tosh 20WLT56 with built in freeview and that works brilliantly, and yet my Philips DTR320 keeps blocking and "schneeking".
     
  9. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    They will vary in terms of both sensitivity and overload performance (IP3 etc. for the RF technically aware) from model to model, depending on the tuner design - especially the front end amplifier and 1st mixer.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  10. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Yes, definitely. Some receivers are rather "deaf" - which is great if you are near the transmitter - and some are very sensitive - which causes big problems if you are near the transmitter. Some people have to fit an attenuator. The choice of cable and aerial is also important. There's an eBook called "The Freeview Bible" which goes into this in detail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...