Freeview HD and Internet

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by macgould, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. macgould

    macgould
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi All.

    I have just got rid of BT Vision and will be looking for a Freeview HD box for the switch over in June, I noticed that there are some new channels which say "Can be viewed via your HD box and Internet Connection", my question is which box/pvr would be best for this? if any?:lease:
     
  2. bow79

    bow79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +81
    Humax hd boxes can recieve internet.
     
  3. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +854
    Do you really want those channels? Many, if not all, will be Pay Per View or subscription like ESPN and Sky Sports are with BT Vision.

    As I understand it ANY Freeview HD box** - provided it is connected to a router with access to the internet - should be capable of accessing these iPTV services. Freeview HD will deliver new IPTV channels this month ? The Register is one news item I found with a quick search.. {As to whether your internet connection will be fast enough and how quickly any download limit will be gobbled up by it is another matter}.

    ** All Freeview HD boxes must have ethernet connectivity in order to meet the Freesat HD spec.
     
  4. bow79

    bow79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +81
    I have humax and sagem, both claim internet connection Humax works sagem does not!
     
  5. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    Don't forget that, if you start streaming HD and you have a limited download per month, you could chew right through it in a few days.
     
  6. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +854
    Have you asked Sagem why it doesn't work? and when/if they will offer an update to the box's firmware to enable it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice