Freeview Freeze

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by rosemanbridge, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    My Nokia 221 which I installed last week keeps freezing the picture. I exchanged it for a new one, but it is still freezing. Channel 4 and The Hits channels are also very pixellated and sound is choppy. Is it a fault with the box? I am in Worcester area and tuned to the Malvern transmitter. Thanks.
     
  2. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    The Nokia is prone to freezing when the picture breaks up, but the break up is probably caused by poor reception in the first place.

    I've had a 221 since January and while I quite like a lot about it, there are better boxes around now with fewer bugs. If I were you, I'd exchange the Nokia for a Pioneer or Sony box and get your aerial seen to by a professional if you're still getting reception problems.
     
  3. loz1

    loz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah my 221T is the same. Doesn't happen often but when it does I have to switch it off at the mains. Seems particularly bad when using teletext.
     
  4. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,859
    I have a new Philips 1500.

    I keep getting CH 4 and ITV channels breaking up. I can only think it is down to reception and the aerial.

    It has been doing it in the evening and usually when I start recording.

    The weird thing, I have a IDTV and using the same aerial cable, the picture is fine.

    The only thing left is too mess around with the aerial.
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Get CAS back to check the signal strength
     
  6. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    CAS are coming in the week to check signal strength. I swapped the Nokia for the Pioneer as it had an optical out socket. It doesn't freeze up, but the picture is still breaking up. The strength on the box is averaging 91% so I don't know if CAS can do anything???
     
  7. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Are you pointing over a main road (eg A449)?

    If so maybe tilting aerial up at 5% may help.

    Are any channels worse than others?
     

Share This Page

Loading...