Freeview EPG

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Giles, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. Giles

    Giles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    7 day EPG is now available in the Tacolneston transmitter area. Yay! AT LAST! :clap:


    I have a Sony VTX-800u box.
     
  2. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Did you do a box reset or did it just come up automatically?

    I'm on Beacon Hill. Probably be the last in the country to get enabled.
     
  3. Giles

    Giles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just watching the news before I came to work..... The box was definatly not reset. I think I switched it on from standby.

    I was just seeing what else was on to kill 15 mins and looked at the program guide and BINGO!
     
  4. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    No joy for me but apparently it's being rolled out 'over the next few days'. Caradon Hill is next along from me and they have it. I'm on a pretty major transmitter so hopefully won't have to wait too long. Not sure why I want it so badly, exciting I spose :laugh:

    It will come into it's own when integrated with a PVR though. If only Panasonic would make theirs available for me to have a look at.
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Here at Sutton as well
     
  6. matty2767

    matty2767
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got it in notts on sony box :thumbsup:
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,077
    Not yet on Emley Moor last night (26th).
     
  8. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,689
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    7 Day EPG??

    Forgive my ignorance, but what is that? :blush:


    Spoony.
     
  9. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,077
    Electronic Programme Guide. Currently only shows now and next; new system shows a week ahead.
     
  10. matty2767

    matty2767
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the dtt techincal info website has the following text

    * 7 Day EIT(s) Schedule (13-Jul-04) - Final arrangements are being put in place for the national rollout of the EIT(s) data, which forms the basis for compatible STB's to generate a 7 day EPG. This is expected to be complete by the last week in July.
     
  11. Spoonman2

    Spoonman2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    2,689
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    Thankyou Nigel :thumbsup:
     
  12. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I'll be interested in how the epg works with the Twin in terms of speed. I gather that the Twin's latest software will only allow a 4 day epg but it's on my short, shortlist of PVR's. I'm just waiting to see if the epg works as slickly as with Sky+. I'm also looking at the new Panasonic PVR but have not seen one yet.

    Also, the Panasonic stb I have has an odd Guide display. Instead of channels down the side and time along the top ala. Sky, Twin etc. It has a page for each channel so you have to scroll through the channels to see whats on. If the Panasonic PVR is the same it might put me off. Not really a huge problem but bad design.

    No epg at Beacon Hill yet. :thumbsdow
     
  13. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    7 day EPG now from Rowridge
     
  14. huw

    huw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Pioneer 100 GB box. Does anybody know whether this box should automatically receive the 7 day epg or will it be necessary to have an over the air download from pioneer before i can receive the 7 day information.

    If it does need a download does anybody know when this will take place.
     
  15. matty2767

    matty2767
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    before i got the 7 day version i had the now and next on my sony box. you could move/scroll up the page and see all the times for the 7 days but it said 'no information available' for everything except now and next.

    so i would assume if you can see the dates and times at the moment but with no ifo them that will be filled in this week. if you carnt then i would assume your box carnt show the 7 day epg or it will need an update.
     
  16. JIT

    JIT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    Not available for me yet from the Blackhill transmitter.
     
  17. pjb007

    pjb007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I here that it is avaiable via The Wrekin but is it avaiable via a Nokia MediaMaster 221T
     
  18. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    I second that.... Was looking at the remote for the box the other night (normally use my Pronto), and after looking at all the different buttons and the options from the Navi bar, I haven't the foggiest how I'd go about accessing the EPG as the box doesn't even have a multiple channel Now & Next screen like the I-player I had briefly did...

    I'm assuming us Nokia users will need a software update (assuming that the 221T is EPG capable)
     
  19. consciouspnm

    consciouspnm
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it in Brighton
     
  20. PhilipVass

    PhilipVass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not got it yet, Goodmans have yet to update the firmware! :(
     
  21. Lester

    Lester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oop North
    Ratings:
    +10
    The mighty Emley Moor now has the 7 day guide. :clap:
     
  22. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I thought Beacon Hill was not live as my wonderful Panasonic TUCT30 (7 day epg ready) was not displaying it but it turns out my parents Pace box is fine. So, the Panasonic is going back and a Sony has been ordered. Anyone with the TUCT30 got the EPG yet? It's being transmitted from all transmitters now apparently.

    I guess Panasonic will fix this but I'm not prepared to wait months for that to happen, especially when I bought the box under the impression it would work straight away.
     
  23. huw

    huw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a pioneer 100gb box. When i contacted the pioneer customer relations department yesterday i was told by pioneer that the 7 day epg was only a test signal and that the roll out was not in fact in progress for quite some time. Iasked if they were going to update the software for this box and i was told to ring back in a month or so for an answer.

    You might conclude from this that they either know something that other manufacturers don't or thay are covering up for inadequacies in their update programme.

    Has anyone else phoned pioneer. I'd be interested in the response.
     
  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Barking Essex
    Ratings:
    +239
  25. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,915
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I doubt this is the case. Pioneer are obviously not up to speed with their software and not aware of what is going on. The Sony 800 apparently works flawlessly with the new epg. whereas the Panasonic TUCT30 does not either. I've not bothered contacting Panasonic as I figure I'll get a similar response as you got from Pioneer. I only bought it 7 days ago so I've packed it off and rejected it. I'm sure it will work at some point in the future but I'm not prepared to wait and see when that might be.

    How dissapointing. Still, should have my Sony by early next week.
     
  26. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi its here in belfast :clap:
     
  27. huw

    huw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just spoken to the Pioneer customer relations office regarding the fact that my pioneerDBR TF100GB box isn't currently displaying the 7 day EPG.

    They have just told me that the box was not designed with a 7 day epg in mind and they have no plans to do anything about it.

    When i said that this was disgusting and that i was sure that this would cause quite a lot of complaints from customers they said that i was the first to complain !!!!!

    If you have one of these boxes then i urge you to complain to Pioneer.

    Personally i will not be buying another Pioneer product for a long time. A company of their size should not make such an obvios design mistake.
     
  28. JIT

    JIT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    Anyone with a Netgem box able to get the guide?
     
  29. djchapple

    djchapple
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    St Neots
    Ratings:
    +0
    Three questions.

    How do I find out what is and is not available at my transmitter (Sandy)?

    How do I find out info relating to Freeview Top-up programs?

    How do I arrange to update the software in my Nokia Media master 9850T? Presumably I will need to have the modem connected to the telephone line?

    Many thanks
     
  30. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    http://www.freeview.co.uk/canireceivefreeview/index.html

    www.topuptv.co.uk

    Software updates for Freeview boxes are transmitted over the air and picked up by your box via the aerial. Keep an eye on this forum as members often post details of when these updates are being transmitted, and what the update offers etc.

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...