Freeview DVD recorder with HDMI INPUT advice

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by andy tg, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. andy tg

    andy tg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i am looking to buy a Freeview DVD recorder with a HDMI INPUT so i can connect my laptop to the 'recorder' is there such a product and if so can you tell me what make it is.

    or alternately can i somehow convert the hdmi signal to a scart connection or phono (think thats what its called, red white and yellow connectors)

    Thank you..
     
  2. ramjet

    ramjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,761
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +622
    you wont find any recorder with hdmi inputs , as the idea is to have an hdmi output connected to a passive device like a tv ( one that cannot record )

    ie:- its designed so that you cannot copy hd at all

    I would say all recorders have a scart output , and many have phono outputs too , as well as scart and/or phono inputs for recording from

    so scart and phono is not normally an issue in either direction , whereas hdmi is output only
     
  3. TheG

    TheG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stalybridge
    Ratings:
    +3
    We use Matrox MX02 units to record via HDMI - these are quite expensive and need a decent spec computer with equally expensive software to run them.

    BlackMagic Design's Decklink Intensity does a similar job.

    Lindy make a converter box for around £150.00 - scales down to give S-Video and audio. I'd guess there will be some cheaper units on EBay etc.

    If you are intending using Blu-ray disc as the delivery format then you also have to watch the resolution, scan type and sync rates you're outputting at. Some laptops will only do 60Hz progressive so for Blu-ray this restricts you to 720P.

    Screen recording software may be a better option depending on what you need to do. We use Camtasia but there are quite a few other apps around.

    Tell us what you're trying to achieve - there could be other options too.
     
  4. andy tg

    andy tg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok thanks any way
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  5. TheG

    TheG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Stalybridge
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can't help you with that. LOL.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice