Freeview Dolby Digital (?)

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by figrin_dan, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +136
    I know I shouldn't listen to what they say on QVC but the guy was quite adamant that DD will be coming to Freeview in just a few months. This would explain why there are quite a few boxes with the logo on the front.

    I thought freeview didn't have the bandwidth, or are they going to change the signal again?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    There is no technical reason why DD can't be used on Freeview.
    There are economic and practical reasons it hasn't been:)

    A broadcaster has to license the technology which probably ain't that cheap (The BBC are resistent to paying for some technology). There is a limited amount of bandwidth, an additional 384kbs per channel is significant on DTT and for many channels just a waste of money, lets face it picture quality isn't high on the agenda for many broadcasters so why should audio quality.
    There is also the percentage of Freeview boxes that have either optical or coaxial audio connections to feed a suitable amp or tv, has to be a factor in a decision to use the format by a broadcaster.

    I would be surprised if DD audio appeared any time soon but I thought the same about PAY tv on DTT turning up before analogue shut down:)
     
  3. BazMan

    BazMan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +18
    You know the bit in the rules which tells us to check threads before posting a new query, in case it's already there? Well, I'm glad I did.

    I have a Pioneer DTR (DBR-TF100) with an optical link to a Sony STR-DE495P and must admit I was fooled by the Dolby Digital badge on the DTR; Really thought I might have set things up wrong, as I am only getting DPL.

    Now I know. Shame really. :rolleyes:

     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,067
    Isn't it true that Freeview sound is already carried using DD - but only in 2 channels - like many DVDs of early films?
     
  5. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,996
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +136
    According to the Phillips manual, it's MPEG 1 sound.
     
  6. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it was DD, it would light up the DD light on my 3805, and also if it was DD stereo, two speaker lights would also light up indicating DD stereo...this dosen't happen.
     
  7. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,364
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    No, it's defo mpeg audio. Which is not even as good as good old analogue NICAM.

    Also, don't rule out DTS. They expressed an interest in european digital terrestrial broadcasts not so long ago. Although I've never seen a stb that has dts encoding.
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    DTS is now part of the offical Digital broadcasting spec but if a channels capacity is too tight as to make DD a non-starter then DTS is a definite no no:)
    Couple that with DD being the format pushed for High Def audio by the EBU and the norm for US and other nations HD services you can see that DTS would have a long way to go. HD-DVD and/or Bluray might be an option but lossless audio formats are envisioned for those platforms which makes both DD and DTS outdated but no doubt both have variants that could be used in the future.
     
  9. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    DD 5.1 would fit - only twice he band width of a radio channel
     
  10. supersonic87

    supersonic87
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    Freeview (and indeed all DTV products in Europe), use the MUSICAM system for audio which I believe is based on MPeg1 audio.
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    It's not a question of it fitting, it's the need for a broadcaster to allocate bandwidth from either it's other TV or Radio channels or buy additional capacity on other muxes(not practical for the likes of the BBC) and certianly not economical when subscription services would have inflated the price. DTT has limited capacity (Until analogue switch off and ditching mpegII) which is not going to be thrown away on DD audio.
     
  12. Barcoing Mad

    Barcoing Mad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +170
    No, the capacity is thrown away on crud channels instead.
     
  13. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Crud channels that can afford to pay the carriage costs which makes you wonder why existing "quality" broadcasters can not do the same to improve both video and audio quality.
     

Share This Page

Loading...