Freeview (cheaoest and indoor reception)

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by jenic, Dec 27, 2004.

  1. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    I want to get freeview for my bedroom,, will i be able to use a portable aerial?

    I can see my tv mast from my bedroom and there are no houses, buildings, tree's or anything in between me and the mast except my double-glazed window.

    This is my aerial:
    http://www.argos.co.uk/webapp/wcs/s...atalogId=2501&productId=108771&clickfrom=name

    Also, where is the cheapest freeview box?

    What make is the £30 asda one and i need a small one that can sit on top of a widescreen tv!

    Thanks


    :smashin:
     
  2. DeadMan3000

    DeadMan3000
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can see the mast it 'may' work OK. Cheapest good quality boxes are Goodmans from places like Richer Sounds for £25.
     
  3. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    Any more cheap boxes available. I dont think i could part with money for, dare i say it, 'goodmans', that was hard. Harder still was reading the words 'good', 'quality' and 'goodmans' in the same sentance without the word 'not' before them.
     
  4. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    OK try a Sony VTX800U or a Netgem IPlayer

    Pity Pace dropped the DT210
     
  5. parkender

    parkender
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I got an ASDA Freeview box for Christmas (Pacific PTSB-1). After 48 hours use I came downstairs to find no standby light on. I couldn't get the thing powered up again - even after disconnecting, leaving for 4 hours and reconnecting, so I returned the unit to the store for a replacement. 48 hours after this one was connected I came downstairs to find the unit with the standby light on as I left it the night before but could not get the unit to work either via the remote control or by operating the on/off button on the front. The wife is taking it back today for a refund and I'll probably try a different brand - I'll let you know the results!
     
  6. parkender

    parkender
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well she took the Pacific back to Asda and there were none left so I got a refund - a pity really as apart from the problems I had it was a damn good box - and only £39.99. Any recommendations for a cheap Freeview box?
     
  7. andyMallion

    andyMallion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woolworths sell an 'Echostar' for £39.99

    Also try ebay, the old pace on digital boxes sell for aboyt £30
     
  8. parkender

    parkender
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that - I'll have a look at the Echostar.
     
  9. parkender

    parkender
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent - after a bit of research, I've just purchased the Echostar T101 Plus with 8 Day Electronic Programme Guide for £39.99 from the local Woolies. Cheers for the advice.
     
  10. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    Whats the echostar like?, i have persuaded someone to get me one today as they were going shopping, i hope woolies have some left.
     
  11. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    My local woolies (halifax), had none left. But they did have a sagem ITD 62, which is sold out everywhere else which i got. It dosen't have 8 day epg just now/next and you have to use scart (like the echostar) but apart from that it is excellent, i can recieve all channels except cbbc, because i am using and indoor aerial, also some other channels have dodgy signals.
     
  12. Tesla

    Tesla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    What are sagem boxes like?

    Sagem are a radar equipment manufacturer originally arn't they?
     
  13. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    :thumbsup:

    I think the sgem is excellent, they are cheap and do everything you want. Why buy a expensive box when this will do the same. Plus it is so small and looks good next to any tv!
     
  14. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +178
    I just re-tuned it and i can get all channels now, inc cbbc!
     
  15. angrydocker

    angrydocker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have one of these, well recomeded :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...