freeview boxes that output s-video

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by p5yco, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    can somebody recommend me some readily available freeview boxes (preferably in argos) that output s-video (via the scart). please help
     
  2. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,267
    Not available in Argos as far as I know but the JVC TU-DB1 has S-Video out.
     
  3. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    does anybody know if the panasonic tuct41 has svideo via the scart.
     
  4. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    The Sony VTX-D800, RGB,S-video and Pal (composite) via TV but no S-video via VCR scart.
     
  5. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi, are you saying it can output s-video via the tv scart and not the vcr scart, or that it just has a separarte s-video connection?
     
  6. Big_Vern

    Big_Vern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    This is from Sony's website:

    Audio Out (analogue)
    YES (3.5mm Jack)

    RF IN
    YES

    RF OUT
    YES (Loop through)

    SCART (TV)
    YES (RGB, Y/C, PAL)

    SCART (Video)
    YES (Composit, Y/C)

    SPDIF (Optical)
    YES (Rear combined with audio out)


    So seems to Y/C (or S-Video) on both scarts.
     
  7. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks for the reply, i just want to be sure as i dont want to make the mistake of buying another one without s-video via the scart!
     
  8. sdc395

    sdc395
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Sony will only do s-video from the VCR SCART if the VCR negotiates it using SmartLink, et al.
     
  9. ufitsy

    ufitsy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +334
    I use a Phillips DTR 1500 via svideo on the scart to svideo input on the PJ. Had this for a year, good picture, good sound. Not sure if still available
     
  10. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    sorry to be a pain but let me get this straight, i will be using a scart to s-video lead - the scart coming from freeview box to the s-video connection in my projector. will this work on the sony, and also does anybody know of alternative freeview boxes which will work, possibly panasonic or jvc?
     
  11. sdc395

    sdc395
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    So long as you're planning to use the Sony's TV SCART (and not the VCR SCART) then yes, that'll work perfectly.
     
  12. p5yco

    p5yco
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    thats great, one more thing i have just seen a humax mg-tu1 box that suits my needs at a good price, plus i have heard humax are very reliable and offer good customer service. if i can find out whether this has what i need i think i will opt for that. any comments?
     
  13. per-Sony-fied

    per-Sony-fied
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +100
    From what I am aware the Sony does NOT output S-video on the VCR scart since they do not make S-video vhs recorders. I've also heard the S-video circuitry is there but the o/p connections are missing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...