1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeview boxes compatible with Top up TV

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by olympus593, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. olympus593

    olympus593
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the first thread I have started so please me gentle!

    I currently have a Nokia Mediamaster 121T which has served me well (but may have to find its way onto eBAY) I'm looking to upgrade to a STB with two scarts and more bells and whistles, and the Sony VTX-D800 seems to have a good spec.

    To the experts out there, does it have a card slot compatible with Top up TV?

    I'd like a few more channels without going down the Murdoch route.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, unlike the Nokia, the Sony can't be upgraded for TopUp TV. And, if it's the upright model, it has no RF modulator. Rather poor for an apparently good piece of kit.
     
  3. richardys

    richardys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard (from only one source) that the Sony isn't as robust as other makes when it comes to finding and locking onto the signal.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    nokia 221t?
    or a pvr unit?
     
  5. GlennP

    GlennP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Sony VTXD800 is a great box. I live in a weak signal area and have no loss of signal ever with the Sony.
     
  6. richardys

    richardys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just something I heard from an installer.
     
  7. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just to add, don't bother with the Netgem presently if you want to use it for Top UP TV.

    When the box is put into standby it constantly "forgets" that the TUTV CAM is inserted. To make it work again you have to power off the box at the wall and on again.

    Not very impressive. TUTV claim the box was tested by the DTG (yeah right) and Netgem have yet to publicly confirm their support for TUTV.

    I think your only option at present is the aforementioned Nokia.
     
  8. olympus593

    olympus593
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers everyone. I had a feeling it didn't have the card facility but needed some expert advice. I'm not desperate so I may as well wait until something more suitable comes along, or I win the lottery and can afford Sky.
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    Agreed. I got this Freeview box - it found all the channels in seconds, has ultra quick menus/text, is 7 day EPG compatible and offers fantastic PQ (it shames the Sky PQ). Top piece of kit IMHO.

    The Sony doesn't support Top Up TV though so no good for the original poster. But then if you want pay TV your much better off with Sky IMHO. Top Up TV doesn't seem to offer very much...
     
  10. olympus593

    olympus593
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. bigtank

    bigtank
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    belfast
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi
    the sony box is great, fast response to the remote and super picture :clap:
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    I agree - I am in the process of cancelling my Sky subscription to go Freeview only. I used to like the classic drama that used to be shown on channels such as UK Gold and UK Drama (I have never been bothered about movies on Sky as I buy more films than I can watch on DVD). However both those channels have gone so far down hill that Sky is totally worthless (to me) now. And programmes like 24 I would rather watch on DVD than have them ruined by 25% of the running time being advert breaks.
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    AOD, so the standby thing is the only problem with Netgem? Not that serious surely. I never put my box into standby, just occasionally restart it when it locks up, every 3 months or so.
     

Share This Page

Loading...