Freeview box with HDMI cheap?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Grebil, Aug 24, 2013.

  1. Grebil

    Grebil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a monitor I'd like to convert into a TV with a freeview box and an HDMI to DVI converter but am struggling to find a decent freeview box with HDMI for about £40.

    Are there any decent ones out there you can recommend?

    Thanks.
     
  2. bow79

    bow79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +81
    This sounds like it should not be a problem BUT I think I once read that some with hdmi input (hdmi to hdmi) will not do it unless they have, and then I can not remember what! I think something to do with copyright protection.
     
  3. Grebil

    Grebil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah yes that would make sense, think it's called HDCP (the HDMI copy protection system)

    Ok, so new requirement - can't have HDCP. Do they exist?

    Thanks.
     
  4. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +918
    Many computer monitors won't work with 50Hz TV signals anyway so it may not be a solution to attach a box like that ... Most require 60Hz minimum signals and TV resolutions may not match either... search this forum or Google the problem, as it has come up before.

    HDCP is only relevant on High Def TV signals... Standard Def should not need it. However HDCP is mandatory on any HD boxes sold in the UK with the Freeview badge.

    You will find suitable boxes in the cheap brands on ebay and amazon in your price range, albeit 'refurbished' units. Second-hand units are another possible.
     
  5. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,018
    As Rodders implies, the likelihood is that your monitor cannot cope with the standard 50Hz video signal that such boxes produce... so before you go any further, check the specification of the monitor to see whether or not it has this capability.

    Most only go as low as 56Hz which is no good.
     
  6. Grebil

    Grebil
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys, will have a look into it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice