Freeview box recommendations

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Legin76, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey people

    I'm after a freeview box. It must be able to take cards, have RGB scart and digial sound.

    I'm willing to spend about £100 what do you guys recommend?
     
  2. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    Sony from Amazon £79.99. Best box IMO and if you search the forum many agree and that is the cheapest price by far.

    Pros : Fast channel changing, Sony are good for updates (most others are not), 8 day EPG, good tuner, option to delete channels etc TopUpTV.

    Cons : About the most expensive box.
     
  3. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1

    It does look good but I cant see any information about it having TopUpTV.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0000TEV88/buyfromamaz0e-21/ref=nosim/202-0045512-7788665
     
  4. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    It has no cam slot so can't get TopUpTv.

    You didn't mention TopUpTV in your posting, just Freeview. I'm not sure what the best TopUpTV box is sorry.
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Go to the Topup TV Website - they have lists of all STB's that will either accept a CAM or already have one.
     
  6. MikeRJ

    MikeRJ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +1
    You got me all excited then, need a new box that supports TUT and was just about to get the credit card out! To be fair the OP did say it had to take cards, and you did say it supported TopupTV in your first post.
     
  7. NX3

    NX3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +332
    "It must be able to take cards"

    I'll get my coat.... :-(
     
  8. Legin76

    Legin76
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    /me slaps NX3

    Ok I feel better :thumbsup:

    The Echostar T105 seems the best option. I can't find if its RGB, although I can live without that. Comet have it for £79.99 although it doesn't say if its witht he topup pack and argos has it for £89.99 with the topup pack so I may have to pay both a visit this evening.

    It has ok reviews http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/article/ds18116.html

    Legs
     
  9. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I wouldn't worry too much about TUTV - E4 is supposed to be going Freeview, ABC1 want more bandwidth, that would be 1.5 streams less!
     

Share This Page

Loading...