Freesat software trial - Freetime On Demand Netflix

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Steve Webb, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    I recently registered my interest with Freesat to take part in a software trial and have today received an email from them inviting me to download the software upgrade.
    The beta software updates the On Demand services and includes a Netflix App on the Humax Freetime recorders (I have the Humax HDR-1000S).

    Before I take the plunge I thought I'd ask if anyone else has taken part and whether you could advise on how stable the beta software upgrade is?
    I'm a little apprehensive only because to revert back to the regular software requires a factory reset apparently so I'd lose all my recordings!!
    I'm also assuming the upgrade won't delete my recordings?

    I could ask Freesat or Humax these questions but trust you lot more if I'm honest.

    Can anyone offer any insight please?

    Cheers
    Steve
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  2. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    If your'e not prepared to test it, why did yo volunteer to test it?:facepalm:
     
  3. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,168
    This... if you're testing beta software you need to be prepared for the worst!
     
  4. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    I know that. It was exactly the point that I apparently failed to make.
     
  5. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,085
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +907
    I didn't think a Factory Reset deleted any recordings on Humax machines... just wiped the scheduled recording list (which you need to make a note of).

    The Fomat Disk button is in a separate menu item.

    Best advice from me: ask HUMAX for a definitive statement on this one!

    EDIT:: A different forum (but many of the same users) confirms that I am are correct for a 1000s HDR 1000s Keeps rebooting. « My Humax Forum

    I'd suspect there will be more beta testers over there, too ;)
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  6. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,168
    Indeed, I was agreeing with you.... :D
     
  7. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    Yep you're right. Having reread the info it does only delete scheduled recordings.
    I updated/installed the new software last night anyway and on the face of it the only difference I can see is the addition of Netflix which doesn't work. I've emailed Freesat with the error code so hope to hear back with a solution shortly.
     
  8. robgr

    robgr
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did see several other apps but for me Netflix didn't work either (why was I not surprised?), I've had an initial reply as follows
    Thank you for contacting Humax.
    I am sorry to hear you are having trouble with the trial software.
    As this is a trial version of the update we will be looking into this issue you have encountered and we will hopefully have this resolved soon.
    Apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.

    The network test was successful so I'm stumped, I reckon it's likely the ESN not being properly read (you can check the ESN is present from 'more details' when you get the error (which in itself can mean many different things if you trawl the forums)
    Be good to get this working as at the mo I have to swap over to BD player for Netflix which is a PITA
     
  9. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    I've had the exact same email.
    I called Hunax support yesterday quoting the error code UI-800-3 and they advised that The fault lies with Netflix who are working on the issue which they expect to be resolved by today. We'll see, but agree it would be useful to get it running. All we need now is an Amazon Instant app and my BD can go in the classifieds!
     
  10. BigRD

    BigRD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    far far away
    Ratings:
    +14
    Looks like I'm not alone with this issue on the trial.

    I spoke with Netflix yesterday and their initial response was the error codes ui-800-3 and ui113 only relates to Xbox and PlayStation issues. I got cut off and when I called back I was back to explaining the trial etc! Claimed they hadn't heard of Humax.

    Anyway I got back in touch with Humax and got a second response from a John apologising for the autoresponse email - posts above have had the same one - he said Netflix was due to be activated today (Friday 6thNov). If the ESN hadn't been activated with Netflix as yet Humax should've at least said so.
     
  11. robgr

    robgr
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just tried it this morning and still no dice, I'll later reset the box, network etc and try again (for what it's worth)
    Do we all have the same ESN, is it per vendor?
     
  12. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    Just tried mine and still not working for me either.
    Regards ESN, I've attached an image of my device page in the app - they could have added a few more zeros in there for good measure!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    I have Netflix working!
    There's a new software update available, but you'll need to search for the update with the USB stick inserted again.
    I have to say it runs very slick on the Humax.
    My Samsung BD player has always been my preferred Netflix device, but the Netflix app is up and running and playing content in a fraction of the time!
    Supports DD+ 5.1 and 1080p 50hz not 24fps though, unlike my BD player.
    Not the end of the world though as films seem to pan smoothly enough. great user interface too, first impression is it seems similar to the PS4 only better.
    I for one will definitely leave Humax/Freesat some positive feedback.
     
  14. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +780
    Why is everyone openly talking about an in house trial? Was a NDA not agreed to? Because I've just come off a YouView 4K trial and was NDA'd up to the eyeballs.
     
  15. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    Fair Point.
    I didn't consider this so just checked my orignal emails and the small print link to the T's & C's where there is indeed a reference to not publicising details on social media - whoops.
    That's not what I'd consider a typical NDA compared to the toy industry in which I work, but regardless, I should have known better.
     
  16. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +780
    If they didn't give everyone a link to a specific NDA agreement then thats perfectly understandable. And their own fault.
     
  17. jamesblairsco

    jamesblairsco
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you sign up?
     
  18. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    I registered a username and password on the Freesat.co.uk website sometime ago (1-2 years perhaps) for a Freesat ID. If memory serves, I received an invite to register my interest in a trial a few months back and then another recently suggesting I had been successful.
    I'd try registering on their website atleast and dropping them an email.
     
  19. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +780
    You can do it via your direct Netflix user page. Just access your account settings and the option is there to sign up (or at least put oneself forward) for Netflix Trails.
     
  20. Steve Webb

    Steve Webb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Wimblington, Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +88
    The Freesat trial requires a firmware upgrade of your Humax Freesat box and includes additional apps to Netflix so you need to organise the trial via Freesat.
     
  21. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,254
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +860
    so you can now spill the beans then :)
     
  22. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +780
    I helped trial the new Sony YouView 4K TV. Its out now and from the public launch one thing has become apparent - Its not to be used or downloaded by satellite users as its for Freeview only.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice