Freesat Remotes

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by phardy, Feb 2, 2009.

Tags:
  1. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can you control the TV on/off and volume on any of the freesat boxes like you can with the sky remote? Dont like lots of remotes.

    If not do the harmony remotes work okay with them all?
     
  2. son_t

    son_t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +176
    Harmony 'activity' based remotes are perfect for this type of thing. Although, they are initially hard to set up (and need PC/Mac to do so), with a little perseverance, can be very rewarding...
     
  3. alnwrd

    alnwrd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    boston
    Ratings:
    +25
  4. son_t

    son_t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +176
    ^ Why? Does it have 'volume punch through' or HT mode like OP asks? How about colour buttons?

    If not, you're better off using the FOXSAT-HDR's own remote - which can control multiple devices (3 other)...
     
  5. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    I presume thats a no then to the first question :D
     
  6. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    Not going to get the HDR as I thinks its over priced. If it was around £200 I would get one. Guess that leaves me with the Harmony option then.
     
  7. son_t

    son_t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +176
    The HDR is not overpriced - find me a cheaper twin HD satellite tuner PVR with 320Gb disk storage!

    If you think the HDR is costs too much, I don't think you'll be happy when you find out what a Harmony remote costs either... (cheapest being the 515 @ £35 at Amazon).

    Certain OneForAll remotes have 'volume punch-through' - try looking for those...
     
  8. ARNOLD AKIEN

    ARNOLD AKIEN
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    SUNDERLAND
    Ratings:
    +347
    I see that the asking price for the Humax FOXSAT-HDR is edging downward and Richers now have them priced at £289.95 .. probably because Superfi dropped their price to £293.57. Given that the HDR is still in short supply it may well be that that price will be down to below £250 in a few months time.
     
  9. phardy

    phardy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +8
    That maybe the case but I still think the manufacturers are ripping us off as there is not much choice. A Humax Foxsat can be had for £120 and a 320GB disk can be had for well under £50 so not sure how they warrant a £300 price tag. Dixons were selling them for £250 before christmase as I nearly bought one but thought they would probably be down to £200 after christmas :rolleyes:

    What do you mean by 'Punch-Through'?
     
  10. son_t

    son_t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +176
    Re: Cost. I don't think so, look at the prices for such boxes abroad (and before the poor Sterling vs Euro rate) in markets that have a well established satellite PVR market (e.g. Germany)...

    Anyway, 'punch through' is what OneForAll calls buttons that can keep their function of one device when using the remote in another device mode. For example, the volume buttons keep on controlling the amp, when you are using the remote in the DVD mode (rest of buttons controlling the DVD)...

    Or 'Punch Through allows you to operate functions from one device while using another
    one.'

    I used to use this OneForAll (7562): http://www.symdesign.com/urc-7562.jpg
    It has the HT button at the top left (just under the first 3 buttons) which activate the volume and channel punch-through...
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  11. mxs

    mxs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowestoft
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have just got the 'Harmony one' and after a couple of calls to their support centre have now done away with 6 remote controls! Brilliant piece of kit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...