Freesat recording in France with French box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by A1944, Dec 28, 2011.

Tags:
  1. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    Does anyone know if there are satellite recording boxes on sale in France which will operate with the Freesat channels including the EPG functionality, or are UK Freesat boxes the only ones which will work?

    I have an English friend over there who can receive the main UK channels with a very old ordinary FTA satellite box, but it is becoming unreliable and he is interested in replacing it with a PVR. However, being a permanent resident in France, he would prefer to use a locally sourced box for reasons of warranty.

    He is totally non-technical (even more than me) and, as he doesn't know what to ask for, has asked me for advice, but I haven't a clue either as I only use Freeview here in the UK.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  2. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Perchede 32460
    Ratings:
    +446
    Go for a UK Freesat box and buy from a retailler that will ship to France.
    No French box receives the UK EPG.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 28, 2011
  3. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    Yes, that's the way to do it, though there's at least one non-Freesat PVR that shows the equivalent of their EPG.
     
  4. paulburke

    paulburke
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Perigord
    Ratings:
    +12
    I am in France, I would recommend your friend gets a UK Freesat box.

    I have the Humax Foxsat PVR, which with the hacked firmware is now an excellent product.

    Nothing purchased from French stores will get the Freesat EPG.
     
  5. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    Thanks folks, I will pass that info on.

    Are there any retailers around who specialise in supplying to foreign users?

    Also, will he need to have a new feed horn (LNB? LNC?) fitted to his dish to use one of these boxes to its full potential?
     
  6. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Perchede 32460
    Ratings:
    +446
    I am in the Gers (32800) and use an 80cm dish - to future proof I would advise going to at least 85cm - and a good universal LNB. The dish needs to be aligned to 28.2E
     
  7. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    He is still getting good reception in Ille-et-Villaine (35) on his old box, though I don't know his dish size - his main problem is that the remote for his rather obscure box has packed up (or the box can't read it any more).

    When you say a "universal LNB", what does that actually mean? (I am not familiar with modern sat terminology, nor is he, though I know what an LNB is - I used to have analogue sat years ago, but never digital). I suspect that he might need a new LNB to give more than one feed to a recording box - is that a "universal"?
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,111
    Universal means that the lnb is capable of handling the full frequency range in one unit. A universal lnb has a switched oscillator that splits the downshift frequency into two bands (high/low). This is in addition to the polarisation switching. All normal lnb's used for digital are universal. They are made with one, two (twin not available for Sky dishes), four (quad) and 8 (octal) outputs.
     
  9. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    OK, I have understood that now, I guess that is similar in concept to the adapter I used to have on my analogue setup for Astra 1D.

    So what sort would a normal Freesat recording box need, twin, quad or what? (It is not a Sky dish)
     
  10. lbear

    lbear
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +337

    To use the full potential of a PVR, he will need to have a twin or larger LNB with two cables attached (Double cables are available) For technical reasons, the LNB has to be switched to the correct one of four settings to receive a channel using signals sent from the tuner. The PVR has two tuners to enable it to record while you watch a different channel. This may need a different LNB setting so to be sure of being able to watch any other channel while recording, you need to use two of the LNBs in the unit attached to the dish 'horn'

    Warranties from a UK based manufacturer should be honored anywhere in the EU but you may have to return it to the UK distribution centre. Humax, whose PVR (Foxsat HDR) is perhaps the best regarded, have a French base but they will probably not offer the very quick exchange service under the UK warranty.

    While I am not aware of an export specialist, I am aware from tracking a number of internet sites that Richer Sounds are consistently the cheapest (and guarantee to be so) and offer an excellent refundable warranty extension. Have a word with them to see if they will dispatch to France at extra cost. They state that their courier delivers to the Channel Islands but not other countries. You could of course always use your address for delivery and forward it to your friend.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  11. A1944

    A1944
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    OK everyone, thanks for the info. I think that is enough for me to be able to explain what he needs to know now. What he will choose to do is, of course, up to him.
     
  12. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +971
    Is the delivery to the C.I. new? I asked them a couple of months ago and they claimed they couldn't/wouldn't deliver here.
     
  13. DavidAldis

    DavidAldis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    As an aside to this, I will soon be setting up a Humax on the borders of 46 and 12, just south of Figeac.

    I believe that part of the setting up process is to enter a post code. Are there any advantages (or disadvantages) to giving any particular one? I should add that I'm moving to France from Dubai, so don't have any special affinity to any part of the UK!
     
  14. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,111
    If you use a Manchester postcode (M2 4JA works). This will give you a full-HD picture on ITV1-HD (Granada), the London variant is 1440 x 1080, and has advantages in 3rd channel viewing while recording two, because all the HD channels will be Low Band Vertical.

    108 BBC1 HD 10847 V 2D LBV
    109 BBC HD 10847 V 2D LBV
    119 ITV 1 HD (Granada) 10936 V 2D LBV
    126 CH4 HD 11126 V 1N LBV
    209 NHK World TV - HD 11223 V EB1 LBV

    For example recording BBC-HD and BBC1-HD you could also watch any other HD channel. If you used a postcode that gives you ITV1-HD London then you could not view that while recording 108 and 109.
     
  15. DavidAldis

    DavidAldis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that Graham. I'll try it in a couple of weeks when I get to France.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice