Freesat and IPTV

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by k1ran29, Nov 27, 2017.

Tags:
  1. k1ran29

    k1ran29
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I'm sorry if this has been covered already but i'm struggling to find the solution i'm looking for.

    I'm looking to take a Freesat feed direct from the satellite and put it through an IPTV server to then distribute to multiple IPTV streaming receiver boxes, i.e an app on a smart TV or an app via a dongle such as a Amazon firestick to pick up the stream on the network

    I've seen a product out there which has been mentioned here called the Megasat SAT to IP Server 3
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Megasat-SAT-IP-Server-3/dp/B01DKP28O2/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_bdcrb_top?ie=UTF8

    Is this the device i'm looking for to do this, i'm not worried about EPG data other than what channel i'm on, so knowing what will be in in an hour or a day is of no concern to me. I just need to be able to get Freesat channels, not Freeview as i'm after things like CNBC and Bloomberg off this.

    Any advice / help / suggestions to get this solution working would be greatly appreciated. thank you so much
     
  2. dts

    dts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,157
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +2,000
    Iptv uses an Internet connection, unless I'm wrong... If you want freesat around your house maybe it would be better to get a multi input lnb on your dish, and buy freesat boxes.
     
  3. k1ran29

    k1ran29
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you dts. I understand you point but I was hoping to avoid purchasing additional freesat boxes. Was hoping there was something out there that would take the Freesat signal, convert into a stream and push it out over my network. I assumed that's what the IPTV server from MegaSat did. So i take it no other way to do this? Thank you
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,193
    It's not technically Freesat rather a generic FTA IP server.

    VBox | UK Freeview and Freesat to IP - Network TV Tuner and PVR
     
  5. k1ran29

    k1ran29
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,127
    Sounds like a bargain at £62.46 currently for the Terrestrial one.
     
  7. k1ran29

    k1ran29
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you all for your help, i'm going to try the V-Box.
     

Share This Page

Loading...