Freeloader: progressive scan on a PAL GameCube?

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by olaiho, Feb 7, 2003.

  1. olaiho

    olaiho
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When using a FreeLoader and a PAL GameCube equipped with a component cable, is it possible get progressive scan with USA games?

    Has anyone had the chance to test this yet?

    BR,
    Olaiho
     
  2. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me and a few other peeps on this forums a while ago speculated about this... Yet I have not recieved my Freeloader yet so I can't test it... Maybe Groundy could? Hint hint <g>
     
  3. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
  4. olaiho

    olaiho
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Darn it.

    Thanks for confirming this, Groundy.

    Regards,
    Olaiho
     
  5. nickb23

    nickb23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Beckenham, Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    Does this mean that the hi def nintendo component cable works with pal gamecubes?????? i was under the impression it did not.

    Thanks

    NickB
     
  6. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    It works perfect :).
     
  7. nickb23

    nickb23
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Beckenham, Kent
    Ratings:
    +14
    in the words of the fat tongue wa**er "PUKKA"!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    Where can i order one and for how much?
     
  8. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use:

    NCSX

    OR

    Tronix

    Import friendly and around £32 depending on shipping method.

    You could also try http://www.lik-sang.com but I don't rate them much ;).
     
  9. JamieD

    JamieD
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Eh? What would be the point? Would anyone be able to the tell the difference between component and RGB?

    I'm so gutted that the pal has had prog scan ripped out.

    jamie
     
  10. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4

    Well it probably isn't a proper comparison, but the Nintendo component cable gives a much better picture than the (non-Nintendo) RGB cable I bought from Game. Not sure if there's any difference between the 2 Nintendo cables.

    I too am gutted about the lack of PS on the UK gamecubes. I'm quite surprised too. I'd have thought that PS would be closer to the native output from the video hardware, and that this would then be converted to interlaced.

    Even if that's not the case, I'd have thought the cost of redesigning the video hardware to exclude the PS bits would have been more than any saving due to less parts.....
     
  11. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The native RGB from the PAL Cube is certainly not the best I've seen, even from the official PAL RGB Cable. The Component Cable itself is of a much higher quality with triple screening etc. Also, using Component allows more flexibility as it frees up the Cube's Analogue Multi-Out for the sole use of sound transfer to an Amp/Receiver.
     
  12. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I am under the impression that only Nintendo's own RGB cable is actually RGB, whereas the third party ones are all composite (even though they say RGB on the box). If you check customers' reviews on Amazon.co.uk this appears to be the case.

    Furthermore, I used Nintendo's own RGB cable, before switching to Nintendo's own component cable, and have to say it didn't look that different to me.

    Interestingly, RGB has more colour bandwidth and may be better suited to computer graphics; whereas video may be better suited to component. For example, are there any computer monitors that are CUY and not RGB?

    Why did I switch to component? So I can run GameCube through my progressive scan processor without having to convert RGB to YUC. Therefore I have every game in progressive scan, regardless of region, and they look fantastic!

    StooMonster
     
  13. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,554
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is only one 3rd party RGB Cable that works with the PAL Cube and it's made by Venom. I buy quite a few of them for use on my import RGB Cables.
     
  14. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well the RGB cable I referred to (from Game) is most definately true RGB. I can be certain of this because if it was only composite it would not have given any picture the way it was connected to my projector! The main problem with it though, was "cross-hatching" over some vivid/bright colours.
     
  15. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    The Game cable is definitely RGB. You can tell just by looking at the picture quality :)

    I tested it by using the RGB on/off switch on my switchbox (Argos). With RGB turned off the picture definitely gets fuzzy but with it on, the picture is incredible
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice