1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freeloader is go!!??!!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by t-force, Jan 31, 2003.

  1. t-force

    t-force
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ratings:
    +99
    Announced on www.codejunkies.com (Datel's official web-site) this evening: Freeloader will start shipping on Wednesday 5th February, with Cube Action Replay following about on Feb 18th!!!!!!! :clap: For those of us unfortunate PAL Cube-owning Animal Crossing would-be players, this is fantastic news. I strongly doubt that Datel are talking bull here. So let's break out the champagne!!.
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is looking likely now but I wouldn't break out the champers just yet ;).
     
  3. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Game is taking pre-orders for Wednesday - so fingers crossed! I've got an import cube but what the hey it could come in handy one day!
     
  4. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    Play.com are doing the action replay ( which includes freeloader ) for £17.99. :smashin:
     
  5. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    action replay and freeloader are two seperate products, although they both make the cube region free, so to speak.
     
  6. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    What's the point of buying the freeloader then. :confused:
     
  7. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Action reply lets you perform all sorts of trickery with your games - Freeloader is simply a universal boot-disc. To answer you question though, if both are the same price then you may as well get the Action Replay. Messing around with the game code doesn't appeal to me so I would just get the Freeloader.
     
  8. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thnks for the info.
     
  9. minicooper69

    minicooper69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Action Replay also allows patching via downloads, so it may be a little more future proof than the Freeloader.
     
  10. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Go Thunderbirds Think Not Go Freeloader

    Lets all hope it's hear soon ! ! ,
    But like has been said above lets just wait untill it's released before we all have a Party .

    But will be better for me and all you with our Pal machines
    Yeh Ha ( Playing what we like when we like NTSC / JAPAN / PAL

    :clap: :hiya: :clap:
     
  11. victorrichards

    victorrichards
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    collected mine just now :) currently playing metroid prime on my pal GC :) got animal crossing here also ..this is great.
     
  12. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    So does it work in 60Hz fullscreen? Does it load first time, everytime?

    Really curious to find out how well its been done...don't want to invest in it to find out that its a waste of time
     
  13. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    psst groundy any pink elephants or flying pigs outside the window ?
     
  14. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    :D.

    They're everywhere mate. I can't get out of my house.
     
  15. stewarthollyhead

    stewarthollyhead
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now that this is available is there any advantage for us US cube owners ?


    I belive that the UK virtua stiker is better with more options and smoother animations etc

    Have there been any other games where it is worth picking up the uK/euro version
     
  16. desibeo

    desibeo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    According to Lik-sang...

    http://www.lik-sang.com/news.php?artc=2805

    ...I just ordered mine along with Metroid Prime and Monkeyball 2. :)

    Freeloader is backordered until the 8th with Lik-sang though. :(

    -Kevin.
     
  17. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi to all Freeloader's

    So it's here at last Yeh Ha ,
    Does it work every time used ,
    Play all imports etc , or is it to early to say ? ? ,
    Last think best place & price to buy from,

    Any reply would help me and many others ,

    Thanks

    :clap: :smashin: :clap:
     
  18. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently it's well buggy. Certainly Res Evil Zero is a major problem and some users are having metroid prime / animal crossing issues. Wouldn't spend too much on imports just yet would be my advice.
     
  19. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    There is a new version out 1.6, dont know what happened to 1.5 as 1.4 was the original, and that is meant to have sorted the problems out.
     
  20. NeoBlade

    NeoBlade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    <-- Is still waiting to recieve mine >_<

    Although I don't really need it, it would be nice to have. Has anyone tested a US Prog.scan title on a PAL GC with component cables yet? I would be interested to see if the option pops up for prog.scan...
     
  21. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The option does pop up for Progressive Scan but as soon as you activate it, the games lock up. Looks like a no go on Progressive from the PAL Cube :(.

    [EDIT]

    Some people have got this to work:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=76335
     
  22. Laskina

    Laskina
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got freeloader tonight

    i have a pal gc so wanted it to play imported games.

    works fine and had no probs with the following games ....

    - super monkey ball 2
    - sonic collection


    want to import metriod prime from the states - can anyone confirm this working?

    cheers
     
  23. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    I will try it tomorrow night for you.
     
  24. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    metroid works on all versions of freeloader but on 1.04 you need to load freeloader in a certain way otherwise the games freezes in the first elevator.

    Got my V1.04 yesterday and will be sending it back to CodeJunkies for a free V1.06 upgrade. I just gotta have full speed resi evil 0 action, and apparantly anything less than than 1.06 runs that title very slowly.
     
  25. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Got mine coming this week with JAP Ikaruga. Can't wait :) Heard so many good things about Ikaruga :clap:
     
  26. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi to all Freeloaders

    I'am yet to buy my Freeloader disc ,
    It's taken ages to come out and when it does we all find out it's
    full of little buggy's , and it's been out for just over a week and
    already on Version 1.6 ? ? .

    What i'am asking is shell I wait untill say Version 2.6 comes out .
    Is it that bad ? ? .

    :confused: :suicide: :confused:
     
  27. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    no buy it now, if you get anything less than 1.06 return it to codejunkies or datel or whoever for a free 1.06 upgrade. not sure why there seem to be four version floating about on release but 1.06 seems to have addressed all the popular issues. there is a freeloader forum on the codejunkies site if you are still unsure.
     
  28. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +617
    looks like I dont need to answer as James has :)

    but good job he did as I have version 1.6 and I would have said it was OK and for all I know you may have version 1.4.
     
  29. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,018
    Isn't it strange that Freeloader has all these problems? Surely if its just bypassing the boot check it should just work or not. Running slowly, or crashing in the middle of a game, sounds odd.

    Anyone know roughly what freeloader is doing to get the games to work? Must be some sort of TSR (code sitting in the memory somewhere) which some games don't like)

    Metroid is pretty buggy anyway - mine froze on elevators a couple of times, and I have a switched Japanese cube.
     
  30. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    Realised the return addressed envelope I sent my copy of freeloader didn't have any postage so gave codejunkies a call today, a very helpful lass (sexy phone voice oh yes!:devil: ) confirmed they had already shipped my upgrade copy out yesterday (that means metroid actio all weekend!!) and took care of the shipping cost.

    Apparently 70,000 copies of v1.04 were shipped on release and while no recall has been issued they are going to swap any returned for v1.06. She said she'd be glad when it's all over!:D

    Fantastic service considering I only sent it to them on Tuesday!! :eek: :eek: Well done Datel and Codejunkies!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...