1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

free to air through sky

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ddaddy, Dec 15, 2002.

  1. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have just got a free to air card for my sky box, but i cant get the basic bbc1,2,itv,chan4 etc...

    i get a load of other channels, like sky news, itn news, reality tv, a shed load of shopping channels and radio channels.

    The info that came with the card said something about taking 2 hours to update the card, but this hasnt happened.

    I havnt got the box plugged into the phone line and never will have as i no longer have a landline.

    Any ideas why i havnt got these channels, cheers
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Where did you get the FTV smartcard from?

    If you got it from the BBC then it's not unusual for some channels to take longer to appear after the card is authorised, upto 24 hours is mentioned for the BBC channels.
    The news and shopping channels you are getting now are FTA and can be picked up without any smartcard.
     
  3. ddaddy

    ddaddy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    i got the card from the BBC, had a phone number lying around for FTV card hotline or something.

    I'll leave it in overnight and see what happens.

    Do i need to authorise the card? it didnt mention anything about that.

    cheers
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    When I got mine I had to ring the BBC number again after the FTV smartcard arrived to get it authorised, I don't know if the procedure is different now.
     
  5. bar

    bar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a dish on the side of my house and was thinking of picking a box up for sky digital.

    Can anyone advise on what channels you can actually get for free? Is it worth it as i already have DTT?
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Assuming the dish is pointed at 28.2 degrees and the LNB and cable are in good condition I would certainly consider getting a cheap second hand digibox or even a new one if their are channel you actually want and the option of having a second digital feed into the house is useful.

    These channel listings may be a little out of date:)

    FTA (No smartcard)

    FTV (BBC smartcard)
     

Share This Page

Loading...