Free satellite viewing

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by ianh64, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    My new TV (Loewe Xelos) will have an integrated digital satellite tuner - it comes as part of the Freeview tuner option.

    Without subscribing to $ky, can I make use of this to give me anything over and above what Freeview has to offer? Im quite happy with Freeview but it would be nice if I could access say Discovery and UK Gold at a nominal price.

    What would be needed, apart from a satellite dish and cabling?

    Thanks

    Ian
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    There are plenty of FTA channels on digital satellite.

    You'll find a fairly upto date list here.


    I assume the TV will have a CI slot which means it could have a CAM for TUTV which will give you a few subscription channels for a price lower than SKY.
     
  3. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Do I need a FTA card or something or can I just get a dish installed pointing at the satellite and tune them in?
     
  4. mevetts

    mevetts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have just moved into a new flat and have a similar question. Each of the flats are hooked up to a sat dish. Can I make use of this without subscribing to $ky or should I just get a normal Freeview box?

    Thanks,

    Mark.
     
  5. peggle

    peggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    A SKY DIGIBOX and FTA card are needed for ITV1, C4, & C5 as stated in Starburst's excellent URL. You will not get them with the Lowe. However these channels and more like ITV2 are on FREEVIEW Digital Terrestial.

    The other channels in the list are available with the Lowe & a fixed dish pointing to the Astra2 Satellite.

    You could consider a motorised dish for greater choice. Contact an independant Satellite dealer for more info.
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975


    As Peggle says a FTA channel needs no smartcard however ITV1, CH4 and Five require a SKY FTV card, expected to be officially sold for £20 later this year(some are being traded on ebay) however they can only work in a SKY digibox so would be useless for your television.

    Combine an integrated DTT/freeview receiver with TUTV and Dsat FTA all within the option package of the TV and you are pretty well covered:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice