Free line rental for 1 year if I go HD, worth it?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by JESUSLOVESYOU, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi everyone.

    Just got of the phone to sky, trying to get a deal, went down the line of saying my box is getting old , hd tv, free sat lack of money ect ect
    The best deal they would do was the standard price for HD £79 inc fitting, but they would give me free line rental for 1 yeay :thumbsup:

    Do you think I should take the offer or wait a week or 2 and try a squirm a better deal out of them :smashin:

    Cheers
     
  2. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats not a bad deal. But how much line rental?
     
  3. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Line rental normally £10 per month ( bt is £11 I think )
     
  4. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You save £120 dude. Not bad. But Im sure you can squeeze them little more
    and get them to drop the installation charge for you sky. £79 I think consist of £49 + £30.
     
  5. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Tried getting free install - werent having it !!
    Wouldnt even throw any half price viewing in the deal
    They are sooo tight :D
     
  6. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh well you've tried.
     
  7. tinytim

    tinytim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +47
    Who's providing your Broadband?

    Most want a BT paid line so paying line rental to Sky could be a major problem.
     
  8. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have sky broadband so I woulnt be affected by that !
     
  9. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    I got a year's free line rental recently, so I'm saving about £11 a month. :thumbsup:

    You have 2 choices:

    1) Don't take the deal & pay BT £11.00 or so per month for your phone line rental (£132 total over the next year).

    2) Take the deal, don't pay BT anything for your phone line rental (£132 total saving over the next year).

    What to do-you decide! :smashin:
     
  10. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone please clarify for me...

    How does Sky line differ from BT line or do they just
    install a BT line but line rental is paying only to SKY.

    After 12 months contract is over, Is this line (Sky line) allowed to be used by any other service providers?

    For instance, with BT line other providers are allowed to take over is it the case with Sky line?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  11. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Yes
    I don't know if you can pay Sky for phone services and another provider for broadband. Might be able to but anyway, you could always change phone provider too.
     
  12. RMGEE

    RMGEE
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,600
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +655
    I phoned Sky a few weeks ago asking if I could cancel due to lack of money etc... also mentioning Freesat and was offered 12 months free line rental and 3 months free HD subs.

    Rich
     
  13. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So let me understand this...

    infact Sky is installing BT line. Not sky line. I had the impression that SKy have
    their own exchange like Virginmedia and Sky was installing the line entirely
    from a new network.

    But after 12 months say I want cancell Sky line and go with someone else on
    the same line. Is that possible? Or would Sky hug the line?
     
  14. sunil1234

    sunil1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +121
    sky is using bt infrastructure, they dont install a new line - virgin use cable

    it wouldnt be cost effective for all telecom operators to install a new infrastructure for phone lines! they use local loop unbundling which bt was forced to allow under competition rules to allow other operators use of the last section of line enetering your home

    hth

    S
     
  15. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Sky basically take over the line from BT and run it across their network.

    You're free to move back to BT or move to Virgin if you please.

    More info here: Sky.com - Sky Products>Phone>Prices and Options>Sky Talk Line Rental

    HTH.
     
  16. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I understand that part that Sky is using BT infrastructure.

    What Im still not clear about is the Sky line. Is it a BT line Sky will install?. Sky CS told me that they will install a brand new line. Can someone
    explaine to me what sort of line Sky will install?
     
  17. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Do you have any phone line currently?
     
  18. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no BT line at the property. I just have Virginmedia phone line.
     
  19. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    No sky can not install a telephone, you need a bt line FIRST before sky can take it over, I know this because I tried last year before I got my bt line installed ( I hate BT ).
     
  20. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky's CS told me from this year they can install brand new line to the
    property. If you a new customer to Sky packages. Sky will install new line
    and the line rental is payable only to Sky. But I dont know what kind of
    line Sky installs? I think this is new service from Sky.
     
  21. Azzin

    Azzin
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    23,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,072
    Taken from the link in my previous post....

    Sky.com - Sky Products>Phone>Prices and Options>Sky Talk Line Rental
     
  22. nikonuser11

    nikonuser11
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +874
    to me that looks like a deal that sky have with BT to do the install, reason I say this is thats the exact cost BT charge for the install, so it looks like SKY absorb the first call/cost but if you miss it and they have to instruct another BT call out they will incur the £105 charge so pass it on to you.

    I could however, be totally wrong:rolleyes:
     
  23. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've called BT to find out what they charge for a new line installation.

    BT qouted me £122 for a new line installation and £11.50 for the line rental for 12 months on conract.

    From what I can see its cheaper to get Sky to install the line.

    But hope someone can answer my previous questions.
     
  24. sunil1234

    sunil1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +121
    well if there is no line then someone will install it. Sky, as the other poster said, will do this through BT as only BT are allowed to do work on their network outside of your property and up to the master socket

    Just pay the cheapest price, ie sky and make sure u are home so u dont get charged
     

Share This Page

Loading...