1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FR Rec mode on Panny E50 question?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by CrazyHorse, Apr 26, 2003.

1. CrazyHorse

CrazyHorse

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +305
    Got my Panasonic recorder last week but haven't had much spare time to play with it yet, so I'm still new to this DVD recording lark.

I have four episodes of a TV series (Jim Henson's Greek Myths) on VHS that I want to transfer onto DVD using Flexible Recording mode (FR) to get the best quality. The thing is they are split up on different tapes.

What I need to know is when using FR mode, can I pause the recording at the end of one episode and start a new one after that keeping it in the FR mode or will the machine revert to SP?

The manual is pretty vague when it comes to the FR rec mode and just says to set the total length of the required recording and press start. No mention of pausing in between.

Sorry if this seems like a stupid question, but I've only got a sampler set of DVD-R's at the moment and I'm trying to avoid making any coasters!

2. harrisuk

harrisuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    Why not use a ram disc for a trial run. You should have got one with the deck. I think you can pause using flexible recording mode.

I got mine on Wednesday and have been playing with it. sp mode 2 hours seems to be pretty good.

3. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Yes you can. Press pause whilst recording if FR and it will pauses just like if you did it normally. To release the Pause-Record press pause again and it will continue in the FR mode.

Why not get a DVD-RAM or two just to enable you to get used to the machine? Also it would enable you to use the machine for casual recording and Timeslip.