Four LNBs signals differ

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Silver salmon, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. Silver salmon

    Silver salmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I am new here so please if I don't explain do ask questions.
    My problem is I have a four LNBS and watching the signal strength meter tuner one is showing Strength good - Quality normal but the other tuner two is showing Strength Good and Quality bad. Why would there be such a difference between the two when they are connected on the same dish?
    T
     
  2. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Is this a quad LNB? Or 4 separate LNBs?
     
  3. Silver salmon

    Silver salmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a quad LNB and a Humax tuner
     
  4. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    Could be faulty LNB, faulty cabling/connections or faulty tuner.
     
  5. Silver salmon

    Silver salmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The LNB is only six months old and so is the tuner. Is that the only thing that could be wrong?
     
  6. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    Just because they are new doesn't mean they aren't faulty....

    First thing to do would be to swap the cables at the receiver end to see if the low signal moves from tuner 2 to 1...
     
  7. Silver salmon

    Silver salmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Thanks for your help will try swopping them when I get chance can't now because of the boss and soaps.
    Ta
     
  8. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    Swapping cables at receiver will show whether receiver or lnb/cabling is faulty - if it stays on same input then receiver is faulty, if it swaps input then lnb or cabling is faulty and if fault disappears you had a faulty connection. The second test would be to swap cables at the lnb - this will show whether cabling or lnb is faulty - if it swaps cables then lnb is faulty and if stays with same cable then cabling/connections are faulty and again if fault disappears you had a faulty connection.
     
  9. Silver salmon

    Silver salmon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your advice will look into it.
     
  10. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,650
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    just as a reference - a lot of sky boxes have different readings on their inbuilt meters on the two tuners from the same quad lnb - usually tuner a is higher & tuner b is the lower - if you swap the cables it's usually the same result - tuner a is still higher & tuner b is lower & when you put a pro meter on all the lnb outputs they are pretty much all the same.
     
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Exactly.
    With digital you get either all or nothing - the numbers don't really matter.
     
  12. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    Only they do... if you know a receiver has a breakup threshold of 30% and your viewing a strong sat at 35% during fine weather you have issues!
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Very true.:smashin:
     
  14. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    I noticed similar the other week when I changed the Quad on our Sky dish to an Octo. I was surprised at the size of the difference on the Sky box readings, not that it gives any numbers, just the coloured bar.

    The Octo is definitely peforming better on my other equipment, or I aligned it better than the Sky man aligned the Quad years ago.
     
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    How better?
     
  16. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Higher SNR/signal quality than on the old quad.

    Can't remember exactly which transponders but some are coming in >16dB whereas I don't think I ever saw anything over 14.5dB previously.
     
  17. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    But are you getting more channels than before, consistently?
     
  18. ant_thomas

    ant_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    Hopefully you're not confusing the threads!

    This is an Octo LNB on a static Sky dish on 28.2E. Still getting all the 28.2E channels.

    I was merely making an observation that after changing the original Quad for an Octo LNB the SNR/quality had increased.
     
  19. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Your hopes are justified!
    I'll just say that it won't make any difference then to you, except maybe in extreme weather conditions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice