1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Found one! Service menus: are we still posting?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by drago.d, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    I seem to recall there was a sticky just for service menus, has it gone?

    I've found the service menu for the Vision 4230, and it allows tweaking of red/green/blue, gamma, luminance, input gain and offset (most of which we really need Gordon for, in order to understand their usefulness).

    With any luck, there are some screen shots attached...

    drago.d
     

    Attached Files:

  2. besj

    besj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you reach the service menu??
     
  3. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    besj,

    with the panel "On" (green light), press this sequence on the remote:

    Up, mute, down, mute.

    Then use the Up/Down buttons to navigate the menu, and press "Select" to enter the option highlighted.

    It is important to make a note of the factory settings before playing around, just in case :D

    drago.d
     
  4. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    BTW: you can also check the total run time of the screen.

    drago.d
     
  5. besj

    besj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Hyundai 4250. It does not have the same codes, which I stupidly was hoping. Thanks for your answer anyway.
     
  6. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    besj,

    do you have a "Display" button on your remote? If so, you might like to have a go with this:

    From panel on (green light) press Up, Mute, Display , Mute.

    I found the service menu for my screen by starting with this sequence which I found on a US forum, and trying different buttons instead of "Display" (which my remote doesn't have).

    The site listed three Korean brands it worked for , Hyundai might have been one of them (or it might have been Daewoo). :confused:

    Let me know how you get on,

    cheers,

    drago.d
     
  7. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im being nosy here, are you happy with your Vision panel?

    I almost got one then went for the Viera. Never seen one
    up and running!

    Cheers ;)
     
  8. drago.d

    drago.d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kings Langley, Herts
    Ratings:
    +6
    Anthall,

    it was a gift, so it would be churlish to criticise it. If £1600 or so for a Panny is just too far over budget for you, but you can afford a little over £1k, there's not many plasma choices for you.

    For casual, day-to-day viewing of DVD's (not got Sky in that room, yet) it is a very watchable picture, although noisier than my Pioneer 434.
    Mrs. Drago and the dragoteens are perfectly happy with it. Viewing distance is about 10 feet, any closer and you would just be made more aware of pq issues.

    I was quite concerned for the first week or so about the amount of noise in the darker parts of scenes, however, in just the same way as the 434 did, over time (74hrs so far) this seems to be settling down (screen bedding-in??). Via component, there is still some noise, but colours are pleasing and there aren't any obvious digital artifacts, except for a touch of solarisation (but you'd need to look for it) and motion isn't the smoothest. But remember, these screens are available for around £1k. My Pio was £3,500.

    A couple of points to be aware of, though:

    1. Via component the panel does not accept 576p, and as far as the importer is concerned not NTSC 480p, either. Actually, it will display 480p, as I have found with 2 Pioneers and a Toshiba DVD player (perhaps the 60Hz is recognised as a pc timing?). The image really does have better colour saturation then, too.
    The distributor told me they had hooked up a Cinemateq scaler via the VGA which worked well, so the 576p issue is obviously with the component input.

    2. If you can output your PAL discs as NTSC 480p from your player (ie. current Pioneers) it will display that too, but on my screen there was visible chroma delay (seen as a 5mm shift to the left of the blue component) which is easily corrected using the Chroma delay adjustment if you have a Pioneer player with "Video Adjust" (mid to higher-end models like my 737, but not on my 575 :thumbsdow )

    I've also found the service menu, and that offers loads of scope for tweaking the image ;)

    I'd still like to know if the JS RGB to VGA will work, though!

    cheers,

    drago.d
     
  9. Anthall

    Anthall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for the input. :thumbsup:

    I was going to get one of these from a channel called Auction world
    who have been ripping people off and charging approx £2,200
    for the screen and stand with DVD player.

    After they didn't deliver the screen for over 6 :eek: months i took them
    to a small claims court and got money back with intrest.

    Then went for the Viera because thats the cash i received back.

    Glad ya happy with panel.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...