1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forums SoftMod Kit

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Trousers, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. Trousers

    Trousers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I managed to softmod my Xbox using the Splinter Cell save and am now enjoying some lovely high def action on my PV500.

    It was a hassle finding Action Replay, getting the right version of Splinter Cell then copying the stuff to the card so I'd like to offer the forums a softmod kit all ready to go if anyone's interested?

    Basically if you add your name to the list the person above you on the list will send it on you at their cost when they are finished with it.

    The kit comprises the memory card with the Splinter Cell save on it and the relevant version of Splinter Cell. You'll obviously need to get your own High Def AV kit of course ;)

    A link for the instructions is here and you can always ask in this thread or pm me if you get stuck.

    The only thing I would ask is that if you're the last on the list you could send it back to me as I understand a dashboard update could mean we have to softmod again so obviously I'd like to be first in line for that ;)

    First on the list is AndyPearce who should receive the lot by recorded delivery tomorrow.

    Edit :

    Games that don't work with the softmod;

    Any of the GTA games
    Super Monkey Ball Deluxe
    The Warriors

    Current queue for the kit as at 27 / 11 / 05

    The lurch
    krismc
    Glenagoolie
    Fsheehan
    dj_cfc

    Current Status - With The Lurch ready to go to Krismc
     
  2. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    Most appreciated. :clap: :thumbsup: :smashin:

    I'll give this thread time to grow to gauge interest and make a payment into your paypal account.
     
  3. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    Very nice, so can you now play backups? Or use XBMc? I ahvent got an XBOX yet, jsut wnat it really for XBMC.
     
  4. Trousers

    Trousers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    No it's just for the High Def Output. I've no idea about XBMC I'm afraid.
     
  5. rob_finch

    rob_finch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +95
    Ash, you should be able to FTP to the xbox once soft modded, so you can put XMBC on it and add it into the (new) dash menu. Backups will also play, CD's can be read, PAL/NTSC switching will be available. :cool:

    You can install Linux on it if you like, but you won't be able to boot to a dashboard and play games on the hard drive you install it on.
     
  6. smashed

    smashed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +162
    Hi, I would really appreciate being able to make my Xbox Hi-Def if I can borrow this please??
    So to clarify I wouldnt need an Action Replay or anything? Just the memory card that would be sent around?
    Im ordering the AV kit from Lik-Sang today.
    Cheers

    Rob
     
  7. Trousers

    Trousers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Aye no need for action replay - the save is on the card and Splinter Cell is with the pack. PM AndyPearce and ask him to send it on to you when he's finished.
     
  8. maddav

    maddav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Assuming that the 'kit' only allows you to change the display from PAL to NTSC, (the one that I used first) then you won't actually be able to install the softmod, and EvoX, because it only boots EvoX when you run the run the save, (so if you're only borrowing the save, you can't do it each time.) Therefore not allowing you to run XBMC (unless I missed something).

    I used a different set of saves, that actually gives you a menu, letting you install the softmod for permanent use, and from that I just extracted the ISO of the Enigmah Video Selecter Disc, and FTP'd it to my Apps folder.

    Anyone wants any help just PM me, I'm by no means an expert, I've just had to do things the hard way because I deleted files that I shouldn't have, almost ruining my Xbox for use with NTSC @ 720P :D
     
  9. rob_finch

    rob_finch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +95
    You're probably right, this save might only be to enable NTSC so as to make the website that supplied it a little safer on the legal side. However, if you borrow the card and Action Replay, you can put a different save on it that will install Evox.
     
  10. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    Mmmm... I'm really jsut after the XBMC.
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    can you email me the file please i have a Maxdrive and splintercell please send to hornydragon@hotmail.co.uk
    Instructions too please
     
  12. maddav

    maddav
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want the full softmod (allowing you to install emulators, media players etc.)
    go here for instructions, and when you've set it up, I'll email you the Enigmah Video Selector App.

    If you just want 480p, 720p, 1080i on your xbox, go here
     
  13. Luc

    Luc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got a Maxdrive with the save, and a copy of Splinter Cell too, which I'd be willing to lend out - the more packages there are in circulation, the quicker everyone can enjoy prog scan Xbox gaming goodness! I think a separate list would be best so that it doesn't get muddled up - mail me if you'd like to borrow my package (fnar fnar).
     
  14. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry for the delay Rob, PM me your details and I'll forward the kit on.

    Just one quick question - if I want to change these settings in the future I assume I'll need a copy of Splinter Cell to access the options?
     
  15. smashed

    smashed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +162
    Cheers :)
    PM sent.

    If anybody wants it next, please PM me.
     
  16. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    andypearce,

    Yep, you will need Splinter Cell back to change the options again

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  17. Lord Peeves

    Lord Peeves
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    would anybody be kind enough to send me both the files to softmod with splinter cell? :lease:

    i have AR already its just somethin funny happens when im on it, i cant connect to the interent... so anyway i would really apprciate if someone could send me that!

    Thanks
    Peeves
     
  18. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thought so, now I'll have to find someone to swap my classic version for an original.

    Good to see some reds fans on the forum, you going to the match on Wednesday?
     
  19. smashed

    smashed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +162
    *** UPDATE***

    Once I have receivd the softmod Kit, I will be forwarding to mcgetta (within 24hrs hopefully) . I have also received a PM from mal600908, so hope that mcgetta can forward it to mal600908.

    So the current list is:
    andypearce
    smashed
    mcgetta
    mal600908


    Cheers


    Rob
     
  20. StrongSilent

    StrongSilent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Here's a question.
    I have a chipped xbox and a blank xbox memory card. Can I ftp the savegame onto the xbox and onto the mem card so that my bro can softmod his virgin xbox?

    If not I might have to add my name to the bottom of the list :)
     
  21. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes this can be done,ftp the two files to your modded xbox..put them in E:\udata folder then go into microsft dash copy the files to your mem card and youre good.Remember you need a copy of the game though.

    Lei
     
  22. StrongSilent

    StrongSilent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cheers Lei.

    You wouldn't happen to know where I could buy a Microsoft HiDef kit from a shop in central London would you?
    I know I can order online etc. but I wan to to erm, try it first to make sure I can get it to work before I commit to a purchase.

    Tried Selfridges, Hamleys, CEX, Virgin Mega and none have it.

    H.
     
  23. lei179

    lei179
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Only place i can think of is tottenham court road or china town,Remember these are supposed to be for us or NTSC machines so itll probally mean an import shop.IMHO.

    Lei
     
  24. StrongSilent

    StrongSilent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Now that you mention it, that would explain why they are to hard to find.
    I'll do a quick trawl of TCR.

    Cheers!
     
  25. Jazz Monkey Jr

    Jazz Monkey Jr
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13,820
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Garstang, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +1,524
    If anyone wants it after me, PM me, first one in my inbox gets it :smashin:
     
  26. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +481
    If you order online under the Distance Selling Regulations you can return it for a full refund for any reason at all.
     
  27. StrongSilent

    StrongSilent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Very good point Nigel, tho I'm very much into instant gratification.

    I find the whole getting an RMA number re-packaging, waiting for it to be received etc a bit of a chore ;)
     
  28. mcgetta

    mcgetta
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been generously loaned this softmod kit. Uppon trying it out I plug the USB Key into a game port on my v1 XBOX and power on without any game in drive. I navigate to the memory portion of the dashboard and can htne view 2 files, one the splinter cell save and the other a linux installer.
    Selecting the splinter cell save I only have the option to delete. I cannot copy the save from the key to the HDD.

    Any ideas? Is my BIOS wrong or is this due to mine being a v1 xbox; I purchased mine as soon as the frist price drop.
     
  29. andypearce

    andypearce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    wales
    Ratings:
    +8
    There are two parts to the splinter cell save, if you move further right again using the joypad you get to the info on the save which then also allows you to copy it. I also made the mistake of not copying the linux file over as well.
     
  30. Trousers

    Trousers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yep - me as well. Should have pointed that out but thought it was just me being stupid. Seems it's an easier mistake to make than I thought. Soz.
     

Share This Page

Loading...