+format or -format????????

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mulder, Nov 15, 2003.

1. mulder

mulder
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am fairly new to the world of DVD recording and I am looking to take the plunge. I thought I would pop in to two well known High street stores today and have a chat with the shop assistants
    about the two DVD recorders I am interested in Panasonic DMRE50 in the first shop and the Phillips dvdr70 in the second I was told in both shops that I can record straight from my Digital camcorder onto DVD using both models which left me a bit confused as I was under the impression I would need I-link connection or do I?. One assistant didn't know what i-link was. The other thing I was told when I asked about the Phillips machine and the reliability issue he told me that he was un-aware of such an issue and that the Phillips machine was their best selling DVD recorder (not that difficult seeing it was the only make they had on display). Also whilst trying to sell the Phillips machine the assistant told me that the compatability war is going to be won by the +format and all of their PC's that come in are using the +format. Also both shop assistants from both shops told me that the panasonic was ok if you didn't want to lend your discs out as there was a good chance your disc would not play elsewhere.
    Now whether this is true or not this is what's being passed on to un-suspecting customers who shop in these high street stores and given that if i hadn't been on these forums I would have opted for the Phillips DVD+r70. What I am trying to say is that it's information like this that most people looking to buy a DVD recorder is given then I feel that the +format will win as these High street stores are where most people tend to buy their equipment from.
    I am still going to go down the Panasonic route though when the