1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forcing DVI output on a Radeon?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by cj, Jun 15, 2004.

  1. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Does anyone know how to force a Radeon 9800/WinXP to output via DVI, even when WinXP thinks there is no device connected, and there is nothing connected to the analogue VGA?

    Thanks,

    Colin
     
  2. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    Don't think it can be done. I'm assuming you had something connected to the DVI but not switched on, so it wasn't recognised at boot time ? I have problems with that - I'll often boot the pc with a projector connected to the PC but not switched on - so it doesn't recognise there as being a device connected, and can't force detection.

    I suspect it's a safety feature - you're not supposed to 'hot-plug' dvi connections (i.e. both devices should be off, and not grounded when you make the connection). Having fritzed one graphics card by not following those guidelines, I can see where they're coming from. But the blue sparks you get when you do it are pretty ;)
     
  3. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I'm actually trying to connect the DVI out to my scaler (for pass through). As the scaler is a dumb device, WinXP/ATI conveniently decide that there is no device connected so shuts off the DVI output. Apparently, you can force the DVI output on the NVidia cards - was wondering if there's a workaround for the Radeons?
     
  4. DJW

    DJW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    CJ

    Might be a problem with your PM box, as I've replied 3 times to your last PM.

    Cheers Dave
     
  5. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,365
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,486

Share This Page

Loading...