1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

footy score halfed on Philips HELP :-)

Discussion in 'TVs' started by latent, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. latent

    latent
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a philips 36 pw308. running through a telewest cable box

    I have the cable box set on widescreen and the TV on Auto format. generally this is fine. but I notice when I watch football and sky news for example, that the score/graphics are only half in view ant the top of the screen. I don't like to put the TV on widescreen as people look fat!

    I am sure it used to display the whole picture in auto format including the footy score on the top left. There is no way to manual adjust the format by a few lines is there?

    Any ideas on what I can do?
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    You may have inadvertently switched on the subtitle view feature; press the down arrow on the remote (4-way key) and it should solve this for you although if you are stretching a 4:3 picture you should expect to lose a little off the top and bottom. Hope this helps ;)
     
  3. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    Keep it in 4:3 if it's a 4:3 broadcast.

    That way you'll see everything and in the correct proportions.
     
  4. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    My feelings exactly :)
     
  5. latent

    latent
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh! Thanks very much I had overlooked this. By the way, although I tweak the screen view with the 4 way control. It does not remember the setting when the TV is switched off and on.
     
  6. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    A trip to the service menu adjusting the settings for "Superzoom" will fix this permanently. Do a search for "Philips Service Menu" on the forum and it should come up with some useful threads ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...