Folding Bike Recommendations

captainarchive

Distinguished Member
I'm looking for a folding bike which I can stick under my desk at work and take on a train. Money's tight so I'm looking for a reliable solid machine at a budget. I have zero knowledge of folding bikes so any suggestions are well appreciated.

Hitby

Second the Brompton - I have a friend that rode to Paris on one from London and it didn't skip a beat!

Jamie

Distinguished Member
Third the Brompton.

My dad has one and he's not a little man by any measure. His has been faultless (although a fat man on a small bycycle does look funny)

captainarchive

Distinguished Member
Thanks for the suggestions. The Brompton looks good but at about £700 quid it's a little out of my budget although I could walk to work for a few months, save up and get it. The other thing I'm not too keen on the Brompton is the small wheels, making it harder to pedal.

figoagogo

Distinguished Member
Thanks for the suggestions. The Brompton looks good but at about £700 quid it's a little out of my budget although I could walk to work for a few months, save up and get it. The other thing I'm not too keen on the Brompton is the small wheels, making it harder to pedal.

I would have thought most "fold away" bikes have small wheels?

I have never ridden one, they always look a bit daft, they only seem to be ridden with people with beards and cord trousers where I live :confused:

I can see the appeal, but does the bike have to go under your desk, no bike parking facilities? Would a full size bike not do?

captainarchive

Distinguished Member
I would have thought most "fold away" bikes have small wheels?

I have never ridden one, they always look a bit daft, they only seem to be ridden with people with beards and cord trousers where I live :confused:

I can see the appeal, but does the bike have to go under your desk, no bike parking facilities? Would a full size bike not do?