Focus tests on garden birds

Discussion in 'Photo Sharing' started by jradley, Jan 31, 2009.

1. jradley

jradley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +215
    Hi,

Earlier this week I got my 450D and lenses back from Canon after they were all sent off for focus calibration. I did some test shots with the 55-250 today in the garden and first impression is a bit mixed to be honest - it does seem to get it right more than it did but it's still a bit hit and miss. Anyway thought I'd post some of the better ones from a very mixed bag.

Most of these are 100% crops of the originals straight from the camera (embedding reduced, click to go to flickr to get full size). I've done these more for checking the PQ of the lens than artistry. I'd be interested to know what people think, plus general C+C welcome but please go gentle as I'm totally new to DSLR and still finding my feet.

1) A robin - the best shot I've done I think from the camera and lens since getting it :)

[​IMG]

2) another shot

[​IMG]

3) Same robin

[​IMG]

4) and again (not many birds came out to play today)

[​IMG]

5) Mr. Blue Tit came by, briefly

[​IMG]

6) Finally, tested my 50/1.4. No humans available for portrait so got my chinchilla Chewbacca to pose, as best she could. Taken at f2.0 1/25th handheld.

[​IMG]

Thanks for looking,

John

P.S. Clicking the pic doesn't work and I don't know why, but the flickr set can be found here Focus Tests - a set on Flickr

P.P.S - fixed the links now

Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  2. mark1000

mark1000

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +863
    Nice, i'd be more than happy with these, if only i could get some birds in the garden.

Mark.

3. tontoshorse

tontoshorse

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +693
    You're missing the 1st url from your link. I think there's a FAQ somewheres. :smashin:

Nice robin.

4. denno75uk

denno75uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +574