1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Focus Enhancement's CenterStage products

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by StooMonster, Jan 13, 2003.

  1. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Anyone know which chipset they use?

    My mate, who owns a CS-1, says that they use Silicon Image's SiI504 for deinterlacing.

    From their website, I conclude that they use their own chipset; but could be totally wrong.

    But AFAIK they could use Genesis, Mediamatics, LSI, Zoran, Cirrus Logic, Genesis/Sage/Faroudja, Trident or something else altogether.

    StooMonster
     
  2. RAMiAM

    RAMiAM
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK, Kent (nr Ashford)
    Ratings:
    +9
    I actually said I wasn't too sure but took a guess that they used the SiI504, and specifically said "I could be wrong".
    I can't find anything on the FE site that lists in detail exactly what chip sets they use in their CS range.

    RAM
     
  3. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Didn't mention you by name :blush:, perhaps it was another mate ;)

    Anyway, still interested to know which chipset they use. From their website they seem to manufacture these kind of chips; which is why I think they use their own in CenterStage products.

    StooMonster
     
  4. RAMiAM

    RAMiAM
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK, Kent (nr Ashford)
    Ratings:
    +9
    I think your probably right.
    They created some new TV-out chip which Micro$oft now use in their xbox.
    Also I guess because it's flash updatable it could be a proprietary chip.
    I would imagine if they used a well regarded third party chip they would be advertising it better than they are now.

    RAM
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    If it is their own chipset, wonder why it's not listed in Home Theater Secrets' comparison on chipsets?

    StooMonster
     
  6. RAMiAM

    RAMiAM
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK, Kent (nr Ashford)
    Ratings:
    +9
    Maybe it's complete ****e :)
     
  7. popeye

    popeye
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sil 504 is used in the Centre Stage processors. The new sil504 is the latest chip developed by DVDO, which has now been acquired by Silicon Image. The earlier sil 503 chip was used for the iscan Pro.


    popeye
     
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Well there you are. Now looking forward even more to testing CenterStage CS-1!

    I wonder if new CenterStage HD also uses SiI504? Also wonder if they include Silicon Image's new chroma-bug fixer chip as seen in iScan Ultra?

    Or do CenterStage have their own chroma-bug fixer?

    StooMonster
     
  9. RAMiAM

    RAMiAM
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK, Kent (nr Ashford)
    Ratings:
    +9
    Stoomonster,

    More a lucky guess than informed knowledge :)
    Again I would guess that the new CS-HD uses the same SiI504.
    Wouldn't dare guess as to if it also has the CUE fix.

    Fire FE an eMail, feedback on AVS about FE suggest the support is very good. Also look out for the user FE, as the name suggests he works for FE, quite senior if his tag is correct.

    RAM
     

Share This Page

Loading...