1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FMJ DV29 Player Announced

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by hughross, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. hughross

    hughross
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    It has shipped to certain dealers I believe!
     
  3. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    I have one already.
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    am i right in thinking it does interlaced over HDMI?

    I was thinking of getting a lumagen HDpro scaler and if it does pass HDMI interlazed that would be a great combination
     
  5. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
  6. speedyuk

    speedyuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: This player looks very nice. BUT i know it can do DVD-A. Can it do SACD & if not why not???
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    No, like ALL Arcam DVD players the DV29 does not do SACD, but does decode DVD-A.

    If you have a look on the Arcam web site there is an article by John Dawson explaining why Arcam do not make DVD players that can decode SACD.

    Mark.
     
  8. speedyuk

    speedyuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Mark. Ill try & find what John says on SACD. Im sure i must have read it. Just forgotten. Darn shame not including SACD. I like everything on my player. So i won't be getting this fab sounding machine.
    Arcam wake up to us peeps with SACD discs grrr :lease:
     
  9. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    Just to make life a little easier the article by John Dawson can be found Here

    Mark.
     
  10. speedyuk

    speedyuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the link Mark.
    Grrr damn shame Arcam for the time being won't even consider SACD. Ive heard both & still think SACD sounds better. Just my hearing & opinion of course.
    Neah mind
     
  11. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    IMHO the differences heard between DVD-A & SACD are often more due to the material rather than what each of the hi res music formats are capable of.
    I have Pink Floyds DSOTM on SACD and it is fantastic, but I also have Queens A Night At The Opera and The Game on DVD-A which to me are equally excellent. But I also have REMs In Time on DVD-A which has great music but as a multi channel product is IMO quite poor as, to me at least, the music just does not work in multi channel as well as Queen & Pink Floyd. I also have a couple of SACD disks that are not that much better than in stereo.

    As for Arcam & SACD its not a total 'NEVER' as SACD can in theory be transfered to a receiver/processor by HDMI with no onboard decoding by the DVD player. It's just that Sony/Phillips have not yet (or perhaps never will) licence HDMI transfering of the media. If it does get a licence then the Arcam DV29 is the first DVD player to be able to use HDMI for multichannel sound, be it SACD/DVD-A or DD/DTS as all HDMI players until now have only been able to carry stereo sound. So if it does never happen then it wont be the fault of Arcam.
    All we need now are the receivers and processors to be released that can accept HDMI and of course the upgrades to current equipment.

    Mark.
     
  12. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    Ok damn it, now ive got the upgrade bug.... whats my DV27 worth (Original, no mods)... i knew something would come out before christmas.. damn it :)

    Any suggestions? thx
     
  13. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    I just flogged mine in the classifieds (orig dv27). You might not want to look :(
     
  14. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    oh god... :(
     
  15. kevshed

    kevshed
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +74
    !*$!"$ .... you let it go for for £400.... sod that, i'd rather use it in another room.... Im amazed thats all its worth.... bad luck. Perhaps im going to need a white lie to get the upgrade past the mrs.... in fact, if i do it while she out, she wont even notice :)
     
  16. cwick

    cwick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +95
    I think the fact that you can pick up a dv27a for under £900 new didn't really help my cause. Still, better sold than gathering dust I reckon.
     
  17. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +203
    Where from? Best price I found was £950 but I haven't picked it up yet and the dealer will price match with any luck!
     

Share This Page

Loading...