1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FMJ 27a SDi Mod. Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by AndoverRed, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. AndoverRed

    AndoverRed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Andover
    Ratings:
    +5
    I am contemplating whether to have the SDi modification for my FMJ 27a DVD player. I know the Panasonic PW7/8 panels have an SDi module.

    Does anyone have experience of the SDi modification and whether the upgrade is worth £350 :eek: of my valuable dosh?

    Is there a quantum leap between component (analogue) and SDi (digital)?
     
  2. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    On the right hardware then the answer is yes without a doubt.

    But i very much doubt the difference would be big enough on your display to justify the outlay.
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I wouldn't use it with the Panasonic SDI board. You would get better results into the component input as this would use the superior deinterlacing in the Arcam (SDI is an interlaced signal).

    However into a good video processor (e.g. Lumagen) the results are stunning and if you have the budget to install a SDI fed video processor setup then I would go for it without a doubt!!
     
  4. rkb

    rkb
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Irvine Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi
    I've also been wondering about a SDI mod to my DV27, for use with a Sony HS10 projector. The Sony has a DVI input- can I link SDI to DVI or does a scaler have to go inbetween?

    I'm considering this as one way of maximising performance from the current SD format and postponing the inevitable upgrade to HiDef as long as possible (until the format war is over).
    Cheers
    rkb
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
  6. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    A scaler needs to go inbetween. Raises the same point as with Panasonic SDI cards - even if you could do it you would only be gaining all digital signal, all deinterlacing and scaling would now be taking place within the projector which would not be ideal (no 2:2 detection for one thing iirc in your HS10 - think Gordon that told me that once!!). With the scaler not only do you gain far superior deinterlacing and scaling (and for all your sources), but you also get the additional tools within the processor to fix errors in the original signal (e.g. chroma, colour errors, some artefacting, y/c delay). A very worthy upgrade IMO.
     
  7. rkb

    rkb
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    684
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Irvine Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27
    thanks for the replies, Gordon & Liam.

    I'm new to the idea of scalers- so will be doing some searches on these forums before I decide the next move.
    Cheers
    rkb

    PS Gordon- are you still based in Scotland?
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    I'm in drizzly south lanarkshire right now.....we'll be relocating south by end of year....or hopefully sooner...but I suspect I'll still be back up here alot....

    Gordon
     

Share This Page

Loading...