1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fluffy Reds on Pioneer 433MXE

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Darbyweb, May 16, 2003.

  1. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed with text and certain red images i get pixelation around red images.

    Last night someone was holding a red book at an angle, the top of which ran at 30degrees across the screen, this edge was totally fluffy..

    It only seems to be with Orangey/Reds ??

    Any suggestions



    Dean.
     
  2. CarlB

    CarlB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,101
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Godmanchester, Cambs
    Ratings:
    +86
    Sounds like the chroma bug. Not sure which DVD player you are using but many players have a problem upsampling red in the image, which results in the pixelisation and banding you are seeing.

    I can't be certain, but it definitely sounds like the bug. Try a search for your player, there are lots of posts about the bug on this forum.
     
  3. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - this was actually via the Sky Decoder
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,980
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,781
    Sky decoders can have chroma issues. It's a facet of the mpeg decoder chipset used in the product.

    I am not sure if this is a chroma bug issue. Doesn't sound too nice though.

    Gordon
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    As GordonF says, it sounds like the Chroma Bug in Sky digibox decoder.

    This excellent link has detail about Chroma Bug http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_8_2/dvd-benchmark-special-report-chroma-bug-4-2001.html it also appears in US DirecTV decoders too. Scroll down and see "Figure 7", this is what typically happens with Sky digital unless you have a chroma filter.

    Some processors like iScan Ultra, and the Key Digital kit Gordon sells, fix this problem with chroma filters.

    StooMonster
     
  6. PVR

    PVR
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nr Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had exactly the same problem, tried the iScan Ultra and there was no difference in result on the Pioneer 433 MXE.

    I am waiting for a solution for exactly the same problem as well, so am interested to hear if anything comes up.

    Regards,

    PVR
     
  7. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looking at that link - those images are exactly what i'm getting with the Reds.

    I've read a couple of posts about the iSca, first thing i noticed was the price :( - second was the lip sync problem, which i've noticed with any other processing introduced.

    I guess its something i'm going to live with - i shall whack in a DVD to see if i get it on them - though i dont believe so



    Dean.
     
  8. briandzo

    briandzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newbury , Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    snap i get it too...same kit.

    it seems if you turn the contrast down a little
    it may improve.

    also
    what 'power control' option do you have
    mode1 mode2 or standard.
    this also seems to make a differance.
    mode2 gives the best results for me.
    although this has impact on overal picture.
    where it just aint bright enough.

    there is a fair amount of setting up.
    remember theres a contrast setting with the sky box.
    what settings are we all using ?

    Brian..
     

Share This Page

Loading...