Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Fluctuating freeview signal - why ?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by SimonSays, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. SimonSays

    SimonSays
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Ratings:
    +55
    Can any of you knowledgeable folks help please ...
    I have a Panasonic TUCT30 freeview box connected to a loft aerial (not ideal, I know, but we're not allowed a roof one).

    Signal quality is 10/10 for BBC channels, but varies every few seconds between 4 and 7ish for ITV/C4 (I understand that these are on a different MUX). The result is a freezing picture and spitting-broken-up sound.

    I'm trying to work out what to change to improve things. Proper satellite cable from the aerial to the box with no joins/connections is recommended, but would this help with these symptoms ? The existing cable seems reasonable quality, although it does go into a box on the wall. Anyone got any other suggestions ?

    Many thanks in advance,
    Simon.
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,423
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,823
    New cable might help. Also - the different 'muxes' are on different radio frequencies - it may be that your existing aerial is optimised for a frequency range other than that used for the ITV/C4 mux. A wideband aerial (get the highest gain you can find) may alleviate.
     
  3. SimonSays

    SimonSays
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Ratings:
    +55
    Thanks for the quick reply Nigel.
    I already did a little research on the frequencies for the different MUXs used by the transmitter that I think my aerial is pointing at. From this I concluded that one with a red plug in the end would be best.
    Moved into house recently - I found 2 aerials in the loft ! The one I tried first looked cheap and had a black plug (therefore possibly wide band) but this only gave me a signal quality of 5 or less, constantly. The red plug one gives up to 7 but goes up and down to 5 or less every few seconds - so that 's better, but not quite good enough. I'll try some new cable and see what happens - want to avoid the expense of having a new aerial installed, which may not cure the problem !

    Cheers,
    Simon.
     
  4. s2kmike

    s2kmike
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted yesterday this exact problem in a new flat using their communal area.

    I am now wondering if this is a glitch on MUX2 and might correct it self over the next few days, as i note on the DTG schedule there is planned upgrades on MUX2 over the next week to increase the signal by +3DB over the next few weeks.

    Therefore it might mean these spits and freezing problems could be fixed without any further changes to our aerial setup

    What do you think ?
     
  5. s2kmike

    s2kmike
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted yesterday this exact problem in a new flat using their communal area.

    I am now wondering if this is a glitch on MUX2 and might correct it self over the next few days, as i note on the DTG schedule there is planned upgrades on MUX2 over the next week to increase the signal by +3DB over the next few weeks.

    Therefore it might mean these spits and freezing problems could be fixed without any further changes to our aerial setup

    What do you think ?
     
  6. SimonSays

    SimonSays
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Ratings:
    +55
    I hope that you're right, but my optimism decreases as my age increases !
    I guess it's your best hope,as you don't have control over the communal aerial or the cabling between it and your socket on the wall.
    There's quite a lot of advice on the satcure web site about aerials, cable, sockets, connections etc. As my other half wants a socket on the wall rather than the cable coming straight through into the digital receiver (recommended method), I've bought a shielded socket box (only £5 from B&Q) and I'm going to replace the cable from that to the box (as well as the run from the aerial itself).
    I was also wondering if a signal booster might help, but as a friend of mine said, you can't polish a turd !
    I let you know how I get on ...

    Cheers,
    Simon.
     
  7. s2kmike

    s2kmike
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simon

    My reception today seems ok, i think this is due to the 3DB increase , hope you are getting better results let me know ?

    Checked my Freeview box today ITV, CH4, ITV2, no freezing or pixellation

    Signal levels seem much higher today

    Cheers

    Mike
     
  8. SimonSays

    SimonSays
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Maidenhead, UK
    Ratings:
    +55
    ITV etc channels do seem better of late, and I did get some improvement by replacing the wall socket with a shielded one and replacing the lead. They still seem more prone to break up than the BBC ones, but at least they are watchable more of the time now. I'm still going to replace the cable run from the aerial to the socket when we get some decent weather !
    Glad your reception has improved - now all we need is some decent TV programmes !!

    Regards,
    Simon.
     
  9. sponshagga

    sponshagga
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know if my ariel fitter was b*******ing but he said that effect can be due to trees blocking the signal as they sway in the wind
     
  10. trevor g

    trevor g
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    free view- outside arials - good scarts work wonders
     
  11. GlennP

    GlennP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simon

    The Panasonic Freeview box is not as good with weak signals as some other Freeview boxes so even using your loft aerial you might get a better quality wih less breakup using a different STB. The Sony and Pioneer are both excellent - might be worth a try. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice