1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FLR - S-Vid or Component

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Kenny Glasgow, Aug 26, 2005.

  1. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Thinking of getting an LCD or plasma at long last :thumbsup: Currently my FLR goes into my AV32 via Mark Grant S-Vid cable.

    Would it benefit when I get the screen to go from the FLR to screen via Component or stick with going via the AV32 and then into the screen with another S-Vid?
     
  2. adomingos

    adomingos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Kenny,
    Component signal tend to be better than S-Video.Depending also on the distance I would preffer Component over S-video for bigger distances, which probably is not the case... Although, the bigger the Plasma/LCD the bigger the flaws you'll notice with s-video compared to component.

    Belden component cable from Mark Grant is outstanding and for shorter distances no too expensive, so if you can afford it I would go for it :smashin:

    Be aware that using the component output you'll have to change FLR setup to get the correct image and s-vid/composite will output monochrome, so if you're thinking in using those outputs to other devices, have this in mind...
     
  3. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Thanks for the advice. I agree Mark Grant's cables are superb :thumbsup:
     
  4. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Considering the retail cost of the FLR, using its component output is the right thing to do.........
     
  5. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    I think MrGrant will be getting another £60 of my money pretty soon :D
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Small beer really, does this mean your close to finding out if the kit actually works before the warrenty runs out :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  7. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Graham

    The FLR has been in use since the day I got it :thumbsup: Currently have Spy Kids 2 on for the kids recorded last year from Sky Movies on 4x Datasave DVD+R

    It's the AV32DP and 100x5R that are still in their boxes :eek:
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    A bit quiet then in the Kenny house?
     
  9. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    I wish! I was due to change the DP for the SP tomorrow but the kids want to go the beach! Not sure if I'll change the 60P to the 100x5R yet or wait until we move ( :lease: ) next year.

    Just order a Sony 32" LCD from their new V-Range so I'll be ordering the component cable from Mark Grant today :thumbsup:
     
  10. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +58
    Adomingos, you made the point which GrahamMG also made on a previous post about having to change the output from the dvd to get colour on the pj and vice versa on the tv, for those of us who havent got prontos should'nt be possible to use the macro buttons on the TAG remote to programme the change....?? :rolleyes: Anyone tried this succesfully?
     

Share This Page

Loading...