flickering on tv via Hdmi

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by oxfordmark, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have a computer setup via hdmi to my tv. When watching videos
    there is occasional flickering lines.
    Is that the computer problem or my tv?
     
  2. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,036
    Could be either, or the HDMI cable.
     
  3. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hello

    Ok, i will take a look. It only seems to do it on the top of the screen.

    Its an AMD Radeon graphics card and the machine is only 2-3 months old.

    Just to help with the issue, its more like a jolty part at the top...
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2012
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,036
    I would say try some trial and error first of all to see if it is the cable, try the computer on a different tv / monitor, try another device connected to the tv.

    It may just be a configuration issue, but probably easiest to rule out hardware / connection issue first.
     
  5. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I looked on the computer, and i see no graphic card options.. This machine isn't mine, i was just testing it out.
     
  6. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,036
    Okay. If there is no graphics card options, maybe the drivers are not installed. Did you try a different HDMI cable?
     
  7. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hello

    No, not yet. I have ordered a Acer Aspire Revo RL70. will see if i can get it to work.
     
  8. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Tried a new tv and new HDMI cable, still doing it. I'll try to upload a video tomorrow.
     
  9. Taelinn

    Taelinn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    It could be the machine overheating, you can use something like speedfan to check the temps of the CPU and Graphics card.

    What type of videos are you watching when it starts to flicker?
     
  10. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  11. flashp

    flashp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Havant, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    Have you tried switching off Aero, assuming you are using win 7?

    It looks like tearing to me, but not the most severe case I've seen. It's related to Vsync.

    I have distant memories of fixing something like this myself...but I've been to sleep many times since then!

    Anyone else??
     
  12. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Does switching Aero off stop this?
     
  13. flashp

    flashp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Havant, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have seen Aero affect graphics/video performance under certain circumstances although I cannot tell you why in all honesty.
     
  14. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,036
    Generally I would say update the graphics card drivers and try Media Player Classic with LAV Filters to see if that helps.
     
  15. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10

    Sky Go and Netflix do not use WMP
     
  16. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,036
    Okay. I'm confused. Is it just with Sky Go and Netflix that you have the flicker problem? What if you play a video in another video player, do you get the flicker then?

    Media Player Classic is a different piece of software to WMP.
     
  17. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ah i didn't realise that about classic, im not going to fiddle about anymore, I'll wait to see if my Revo does it. Will let you know.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  18. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I think the issue is Silverlight on IE, been using Chrome, nothing flickers
     

Share This Page

Loading...