FleaBay sells me DELL XP!!!!

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Fulwood, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Fulwood

    Fulwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +81
    I've just bought Win XP Pro full edition off FleaBay.

    It's come this morning and I find that it's a DELL ONLY XP Pro, NOT what was illustrated in the sales picture!!!!

    MY question is before I loose my rag with the fleabayer, can I use this on my non-Dell PC?

    Sorry if this has been asked before.

    Regards
     
  2. druidvideo

    druidvideo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +7
    No it wont work if its the restore cd I think it is. If they pictured a retial Windows XP CD then they mislead you.
     
  3. Fulwood

    Fulwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +81
    Update on this - I contacted supplier re the software being a Dell restore CD. Advised to install and activate as per normal.

    I tried this and it worked, even though I have no Dell bits - I will accept this, even though it's completely misleading of the supplier, though wonder if if wil have problems with this installation later!
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  4. DJACID

    DJACID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +148
    it will work fine,
    but it might install some dell stuff onto your computer,
    if you check c: drive you might notice a dell folder....
    which then can be removed...


    on the bright side if you ever get a dell laptop or pc which is designed for xp you wont need to activate it....
    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...