Flat renovation - Home network advice

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by Rocky1000, Jul 15, 2016.

1. Rocky1000

Rocky1000
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, I'm currently in the process in adding an extension to my flat turning it into 2 bedrooms and am seeking some advice on best approach regarding networking and media options. I work in IT (software) so have some knowledge about networking but am by no means an expert.

Here is the plan of the flat, just to mention that the kitchen will now be pushed back slightly and a cupboard will be formed to house the boiler and washing machine and this will be node 0 where I'm thinking to add some kind of media panel/enclosure, fit the router, smart switch and all other connections. All the flooring and wiring is being re-done along with plastering.

Floor plan_2.gif

I would like to have both bedrooms hardwired with Cat 6 and also 2 Ethernet points in the open plan area, one in the lounge and 1 in the Kitchen, I think this will provide some flexibility should I add a small TV on the kitchen side, and one in each of the bedrooms.

I currently have a SONOS system so would like to stick with that however I would like to add a ceiling speaker in the bathroom and and kitchen area. SONOS set up for the lounge currently consists of playbar, sub, 2 x Play1.

I wish to have a TV in both bedrooms and most likely add ceiling speakers in them also, (probably using SONOS connect amps), also a sky box in each.

I would really appreciate advice on the best approach for the cabling, conduits, media panels etc.. and also best option for HDMI cabling, the node 0 room will also house a Mac-mini with multi bay storage of some sort probably using PLEX for streaming.

Any advice much appreciated!!!

Thanks

2. Member 581642

Member 581642
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,501