1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fixing Plasma to Plasterboard

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by DEO, Jun 2, 2003.

  1. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried fixing a plasma to a plasterboard wall by doing this:

    1 Glue timber (2x2) to the wall using "hard as nails" to make a frame.

    2 Have the frame in the pattern/shape required by the Unicol mount for that particular Plasma.

    3 Screw the mount into the wooden frame

    4 Then attach the plasma to the frame

    Is "hard as nails" good enough to attach the wooden frame to the plasterboard wall?

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    This isn't going to work and you will end up with an expensive mistake...

    Many different pieces of advice on this, but I used the method described by Uncle Eric.

    Cut out the plasterboard to the size of the wooden batens, glue/screw these to the wall behind the plasterboard and then attached screen mount to the batons.

    See here...

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=69959

    Hope that helps.

    James
     
  3. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    James,

    Thanks for the comments.

    Sorry, this will not work because there is no brick wall. It is just an internal wall of 2 bits of plasterboard separated by a 2" gap.

    I think there is no option but to use he hard as nails?

    Dave
     
  4. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hard as Nails / No Nails products are exellent! But I wouldn't use them to mount a plasma with. Especially to dry wall. When my dad was at the joinery, he would use about 40 nails to hold a sheet of drywall up. Now, in new houses they seem to use about a dozen drywall screws. Not nearly enough to give you a solid sounding house.

    Therefore, you've got to look at the frame of the house to find something with enough strength to hold a plasma screen. Many comments in this forum on this subject, essentially I would say that if you have any doubt then get someone in to mount it for you.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  5. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with John here, you need to use the wood batons that hold up the Plasterboard in this case.

    You need the structural integrity of the wood behind the plasterboard to secure this, other methods may work but at your own risk...
     
  6. mikeq

    mikeq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As you don't have a solid wall you should cut into the plasterboard as JamesTapp said, find the existing wooden frame should be vertical pieces of wood at approx 600mm centres(?). Join your new horizontal batons to these verticals using something like t-shaped plates with appropriate screws.

    This would be the safest way to do it.

    Mike
     
  7. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about buying a sheet of MDF about a metre wide and 1.5m high. Glue the MDF to the wall with about 4-5 tubes of no-more-nails, but also make sure the MDF rests on the floorboards.

    This way, the only force that can make the frame fall over will be one that needs to overcome the surface tension between the wall and the MDF. If it does fall, it will fall by tilting forward only - not slipping downwards.

    Lastly, mount the plasma on the MDF, cut a hole down the middle for the cables and pollyfilla over the cables for a cableless finish.

    This is something that I'm thinking about doing.

    Taimur
     
  8. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    You're still dependent on if the plasterboard is secured enough to the wall. You've increased the area where the pull will be, but if the drywall isn't fixed to the studs correctly, then it will be pulled away. It might take a bit of time to happen, but I won't rely on drywall to hold a plasma up, no matter how you've attached to it.

    However, if you attach the MDF to the studs, and then mount the plasma screen you may be fine. Only the studs have strength, and that's the only place you should be mounting to.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  9. sarll

    sarll
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +128
    My father attached mine to the wall about 3 months ago and it is fine. My house is brand new and the only wall available for plasma (37" though not 42") was an internal (not load bearing) plasterboard wall. My dad (who is a carpenter it should be said) cut a hole in the wall and attached the unicol bracket to the metal studs in the wall - and added 2 vertical wooden batons for extra support. He also sprayed some sort of 'filler' foam stuff into the cavity (to give extra support to the batons). Not a very technical description I know - but may be of some help.

    As ever though try and get someone in to take a look - you don't want to wake up in the morning to a plasma in bits on the floor - oh and a massive hole in the wall!
     
  10. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    JS: Thanks for the good point about fixing the mdf board to the solid pillars, rather than the plasterboard itself.

    sarll: I know what you mean about the foam filler stuff - I used the same when I fixed up my bathroom and need to fill a large cavity.

    Taimur
     
  11. mike1

    mike1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mounted my 50” Fujtisu to a plaster board wall; it’s the wall between my house and next door. I was expecting bricks between but there was just a gap, there were two layers of plaster board I used the standard Fujtisu bracket and sixteen heavy duty fixings from home base, touch wood it’s still up and feels pretty solid


    Mike
     
  12. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Mike,
    surely you've got some bricks between yourself and you neighbour? I thought you required something just from a fire point of view.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  13. mike1

    mike1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That`s what I thought but when I drilled in to the plaster board I found a 12" gap then next doors plaster board. My house is a semi. Fujitsu still up though
     
  14. TheBigApple

    TheBigApple
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In my cage
    Ratings:
    +13
    If it's a fairly new house I'd report the builders if I were you. This is against regulations.
     
  15. soa

    soa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I asked round and was told my suggested method sounded OK.

    Take 15mm MDF cut over size for mount. Secure *through* plasterboard into stud and batten vertical + horizontal. The studs are 50mm + square.

    Secure mount directly to MDF.

    Attach plasma to mount,

    Enjoy.
     
  16. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think we're all agreed that you need to attach to the studs, and not to use the plasterboard for any strength.

    But if you've got a brick wall, raw plugs would be required instead. Nice, big, meaty screws too.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  17. Merritt

    Merritt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1
  18. Merritt

    Merritt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry Deo - just read that you have no brick / thermalite in your wall so this wont be any good to you :(

    Sorry

    Steve
     
  19. DEO

    DEO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve - no problem mate, thanks for (trying) to help.

    I did look at your web site which potentially can be a big help to someone.

    Dave
     
  20. bighal reloaded

    bighal reloaded
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Must admit I've had my 42" screen fixed this way for over a year now, still up!!!:clap: If t falls off now I've just have to get a nice new one!!!, (now that the misses will nort do with out it now!"
     
  21. soa

    soa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually found my "studs" were 4X2.... comfortably strong enough with 6 big screws in. Re drilled the mounting bracket and it works great.

    BTW John, got one of your RGB to VGA convertors from AV-Sales.

    Currently running it behind a Quintro and it goives the most gorgeous picture.
     
  22. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Soa,

    glad you like the Plasma VGA unit.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     

Share This Page

Loading...