fitting an on/of switch to a extension lead

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by WeegyAVLover, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. WeegyAVLover

    WeegyAVLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,798
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,803
    How All,

    I am planning on doing a home made power tool thing in the (hopefully) not to distant future.

    However I need to either:
    - Fit a on/off switch to the power cord of the power tool.
    OR
    - Fit a on/off switch to a 2 or 4 gang extension cable.

    Now I am reluctant to fit one to the power tool as it will be required to be used as a normal power tool.

    So can ths be done easily enough and are there certain switches I should use? I found this video:
    How To Install A Switch on your Extension Cord...


    I am not sure if this is good enough? Looking at the video it seems to rank in the fairly easy to do region of working with electricity which is where I am at.

    Thanks
    Col
     
  2. MaturityDodger

    MaturityDodger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Near Slough
    Ratings:
    +604
  3. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    19,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,221
    Google "inline mains switch" & just make sure you choose one with a rating higher than the power tool.

    The problem with fitting one to the extension is that it may be used for something else that exceeds the rating.
     
  4. WeegyAVLover

    WeegyAVLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,798
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,803
    Thanks guys.

    I need the on/off switch on the extension cable itself as the will contained within the home made tool housing, so having the switch on the cable and mounted on the frame will be easier.

    The extension cable will only be used by the power tool and will stay/mounted in the tool housing.

    Can I ask a stupid amp - if the power tool has a 13amp fuse does that mean I need a 13amp or higher switch?
     
  5. MaturityDodger

    MaturityDodger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Near Slough
    Ratings:
    +604
    If you have a 13A fuse, then you can tell that a 13A switch will definitely be safe. It's probably the figure I'd use.

    But this might be overkill if they also put a bigger fuse than necessary in place. If you know the power of the tool (and you know that this is a maximum value not some kind of time-averaged figure) then you can work out the current.
    For example if it's a 1kW tool then a switch of 4.34A is needed (1000W / 230V), so that'd be a 5A.
     
  6. Digital Tench

    Digital Tench
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +906
    The fuse protects the cable and not the appliance. Fit the fuse stated on the extension lead itself. Which will be 13amp in most cases.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  7. WeegyAVLover

    WeegyAVLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,798
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,803
    Next stupid question:

    Cannot see any inline switches that are 13amp.
    If I bought say a 6A switch and replaced the 6A with a 13A.
    Is that okay to do that?
     
  8. MaturityDodger

    MaturityDodger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Near Slough
    Ratings:
    +604
    What is the power of the appliance?
     
  9. nacmacfeegle

    nacmacfeegle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Auchenblae
    Ratings:
    +1,488
    I wouldn't, the 6a probably isn't a fuse rating, more like the rating of the switch contact mechanism, difficult to modify.....

    What sort of tool are you talking about here Weegie?
     
  10. WeegyAVLover

    WeegyAVLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,798
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,803
    Circular saw
    Mounted as a table saw

    Not at home so not sure of its ampage!

    But cannot find that information online at the moment either.
     
  11. its_all_Greek

    its_all_Greek
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +2,581
    Weegie from what your asking i'm thinking that you will have a standard circular saw that you will be able to "Fix" into a housing to convert it to a table saw?

    If this is the case can't you just fix a Single socket onto the side of the Table attachment with a flex to a plug that you will plug in when you want to use it, and then plug the circular saw in when you fix it to the table, as opposed to an in-line switch.

    Oh and a fuse is not there to protect the cable!
    The rating of the fuse is purely down to the Current needed by the load, the size of the cable is worked out on lots of different factors
     
  12. jendo

    jendo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +146
  13. nacmacfeegle

    nacmacfeegle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Auchenblae
    Ratings:
    +1,488
    Ah, okay, saw table... I can visualise it now.

    I'd go with a combination of Jendo and Its All Greek's suggestions.

    What I might try is....
    Get some 1.5mm, 3 core flex cable, a surface mount pattress, a plug, and a neon switch similar to the one linked to.
    Mount the pattress somewhere on your new table, probably on the under side somewhere close at hand. You might want to make sure you can get the cables into the new pattress before you mount it, if you drill any holes, I'd seal them up with grommets or some silicon when the cables are in place.
    Cut the plug off the saw, wire it to the load side of the switch, put a new plug on one end of the 3 core flex, wire the other end of the flex to the new switch, lock the saw in the on position, stand back and plug it in.

    I'm not a sparky.....
     
  14. phillyd1981

    phillyd1981
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,474
    What you need is a set of these weegie a must have for any inline switch to ensure a secure connection..

    Tower Male Comp Gland Black 25mm Pack of 2 | Screwfix.com

    :rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:
     
  15. WeegyAVLover

    WeegyAVLover
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,798
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,803
    No one else will get that... But funny nonetheless!!!

    I still do not understand how binoculars are gonna help me here :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice