1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Time Scaler Buyer

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Henry, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    I'm looking to add a scaler to the following kit:

    Pioneer 504HDE
    Denon 3910 or Arcam DV79 (will be getting one of the two next week!)
    Xbox
    Pace Sky+ V2

    I'm totally new to scalers and was looking for some advice as to what to choose and how it should all be connected. My budget would be up to about £1200. Could push to a few quid more if it would really mean a step up in quality.

    I live in Hull and I'd be really keen to see some scalers in action and wondered if anyone knew of anywhere where I could see them?
     
  2. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    Anyone?
     
  3. ihan

    ihan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +25
    Definitely buy the Arcam. The Denon can't output interlaced over HDMI, so it would be a bit pointless using the scaler with it.

    As for the processor, I'm told the Lumagen HDP is definitely the best one (picture quality wise) to go for in your budget. I plan to get one of these and use it with my DV79 next year.

    Note that the Lumagen introduces additional video delay in your system, so you need a way to delay the audio. An Iscan DVDO HD+ can add delay to digital sources, or you could add an external delay box of some description. Another alternative for analogue & digital delay is a new AV amp. I can highly recommend the Arcam AVR300.

    Regards,
    Ian
     
  4. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    There is almost certainly sufficient audio delay available inside the DV79 for use with DVD and a Lumagen - its more than 100ms IIRC - though you might need another way of doing audio delay with other video sources (an AVR250/300 would be fine!). No doubt Gordon can comment.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    My comment: Wise words all around. More than enough delay in the DV79. I have one myself.

    Gordon
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Henry

    The 04HDE does benefit from adding in an external Video Processor and the Lumagen units do a great job with the HDE - its just a pity the HDMI Input on the Media Box limits you to up-scaling everything to 720P and not 768P.

    If you cant find a dealer locally then possibly Lumagen can come to you - for a small fee Lumagen dealers offer an in-home demo of the Lumagen kit (speak to Gordon - Convergent-AV)

    I'd also suggest you'll get the best out of your planned upgrade if you add in the cost of having your system ISF Calibrated at the same time as the Video processor is installed and configured in your set-up.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS The Denon DVD-3910 is a great product - though for a little more money the DV79 is better :)
     
  7. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,379
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,488
    Henry,
    I live in Barton and have the Lumagen HDP, you're welcome to come and have a look. Bear in mind though it's still on beta firmware and currently isn't accepting an interlaced HDMI signal so you won't be seeing all of its potential but I'm only 10mins away from you so it has to be worth a trip I suppose..

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  8. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    How would you get the firmware updated so that it would accept an interlaced signal?
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Henry

    The Firmware is an ever evolving beast - see http://www.lumagen.com/update_hdp.htm

    New features and processes are being added by the Lumagen team which you then download via a Serial cable (supplied) from any suitable PC.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  10. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    Do your know if the current firmware will enable the Vision HDP to accept an interlaced signal over HDMI?
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    Currently it accepts HD interlaced 1080i they are working on the 480i/576i functionality right now.

    Gordon
     
  12. Eagerbeaver

    Eagerbeaver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So is there any point of using a scaler with a 504HDE. I thought the media box negated the benefit of a scaler as it interfered with the signal path too much.
     
  13. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    Is that true? Does anyone have any experience of this?

    Cheers!
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello Both

    Using a decent Video Processor with an 04HDE or 05XDE makes for a pretty big improvement in overall PQ.

    Recently we were Exhibiting a Calibrated 435XDE with a Lumagen VisionDVI Video Processor at an Exhibition Pioneer UK were also attending - many folk commented that 'our' XDE made the Pioneer UK units look 'faulty'.

    Inputting at 720P may not be the way we would want it but it still makes for very worthwhile PQ improvements.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  15. Henry

    Henry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +52
    Excellent. Thanks Joe. Andy has kindly volunteered to let me have a look at his Lumagen HDP in action on Monday. Will report back. Any other advice or comments much appreciated!
     

Share This Page

Loading...