1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Time Plasma Buyer needs help!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by reddevil63, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Hi

    I am new to the forum and a tad overwhelmed by all the threads on Plasmas, which ones good or bad.

    Basically I am after a 42" screen under £2000.

    I love watching DVD's and have Sky+ so picture quality is paramount.

    I am not worried too much about the sound as have seperate home cinema kit which I use at the moment.

    Connections are important so require RGB scart socket for Sky+. I use component video for watching DVD's so would required that also.

    One of the big issues which sort of concerns me is I have heard that the gas used within plasma doesn't last for ages and that its quite expensive for a refill.

    Could someone squash my concerns?

    Many Thanks
     
  2. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    either this is a wind up or you are genuinely new to the 'scene' :D

    a plasma does not need re-gassing - PERIOD - although i gather that one or two sales people in a certain high street store did spread this rumour in an attempt to get people to buy their extended warranty plans :(

    if you do a site search on re-gassing plasma's you will at least have a bit of light entertainment :D

    good luck
     
  3. u32t5645

    u32t5645
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, plasmas can lose gas…but probably not where you are. :thumbsup: You need to get them up over 5000ft elevation (a mile) before it starts to become a concern. By 8000ft you’ve got a problem. Here in the States, some plasma warranties are voided for folks living in the Rocky Mountains. They’re up that high. :eek:
     
  4. samjet

    samjet
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    notts
    Ratings:
    +5
    i suppose you pressurise your cinema room just as you would an aircraft cabin :rotfl:

    i can see this thread developing......................... :D
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    you may wish to look at the JS Technology rgb to vga converter as opposed to going the scart route for sky+. You will find stacks of information here about js and their web site is also full of useful info about connections for plasma.
    http://www.js-technology.com/
     
  6. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mep,
    Do you believe this will improve the SKY+ PQ?? also RGB - VGA or RGB to Component? which is best?

    Many Thanks,

    Conor.
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    conor, well it did in my experience on 2 different screens. I have the vga variety but if you go the component route you get colour controls which you don't with rgb as you don't need them.
     
  8. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheer Mep, I will discuss the merits next week when Gordon does the ISF config.

    I am thinking of getting a Lumagen later this year therefore:
    Question?, is this a cheaper Lumagen replacement for Sky? or an additional item required?

    Things are never simple!
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Using plasmas at that height is not a problem which is due to escaping gas. It's a problem that plasma gas expands slightly when it is lit, and it causes the panel to buzz faintly. As the altitude increases (and the atmospheric pressure drops) this buzz becomes louder, becoming unbearable above about 6000 feet. Glass doesn't suddenly become permeable to gas at altitude. If it did, aircraft would be in a lot of trouble !
     
  10. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Cheers chaps for the help on the gas query.

    Now how about some recommendations on what plasma to get as per my first post. :hiya: :clap: :D
     
  11. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    I would say cheaper alternative, it does a great job but I can only imagine the Lumagen is going to do it even better, but it's one or the other not both I think.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  13. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite a bit cheaper!! - another project to investigate I think. However I first need to build up the brownie points with the missus (decorating!! :eek: ) before I start research, hence the back end of this year purchase.

    Not enough hours in the day!
     
  14. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    My plasma hasn't got a VGA port, only DVI...would this still work or would the RGB - S Video be a better option ie better picture?
     
  15. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    no i don't think it will work with dvi port (which screen did you get?).....
     
  16. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Samsung PS42V4 which few here say is crap, maybe for Sky but DVD via component is pretty good.
     
  17. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    so you have dvi, scart or svideo?..is it a dvd recorder?...as going via a dvdr into component is pretty good too
     
  18. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Plasma has RGB scart, s-video and DVI

    DVD player has component out which I have connected to plasma component.

    Just trying to figure how to further improve SKY picture....have already twiddle with contrast, sharpness, colour and brightness...looks better than before but could be better if you know what I mean.
     
  19. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    yes, just wonderd if it was a dvd recorder because you can go sky scart to dvd recorder and then component to screen for both......in my experience there is not a huge diff between svid and scart...but a decent rgb scart should be a better option....but try both.......it may also improve a bit with running in.......also i find best result is to have contrast on sky box set to low
     
  20. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Many thanks Mep! :thumbsup:
     
  21. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Talking about DVD Recorders if I went down that path, which one would be recommended?

    Component output and Pal progressive scan would be needed.
     
  22. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    depends on budget of course but the e55 for around £200 is a very good machine for the money and meets your needs.......
     
  23. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    Sounds good...2 RGB scarts, component out, PAL progressive scan.

    So with this I could have SKY thru the recorder which, in turn, is connected to the plasma via component?

    And with this setup you reckon my SKY picture quality would/could improve?
     
  24. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    yes you can do that and converting the sky to component certainly gives the potential to improve the picture
     
  25. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
  26. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    souds like a real good deal..they are over £300 normally i think
     

Share This Page

Loading...