1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time LCD buyer - will I notice response times?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by gaz@manc, Aug 4, 2005.

1. gaz@manc

gaz@manc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most of the LCDs I've seen within my price/size range have response times of 25ms. Now, I've been advised to get a 16ms but very often either the price doubles or the resolution halves. If I've never used an LCD TV before would a 25ms response time be noticeable, esp when playing Xbox? I'd be sitting about 3-4ft away from the screen.

2. probedb

probedb
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +181
    Since no-one else has replied (which happens frequently in here to newbs I've noticed). Depends how sensitive you are. I have a ViewSonic 27" set which quotes 16ms response time and in general I don't notice it. The only time I see it is when you have fairly fast moving credits, i.e. white on black then I can see a quick disappearing trail left behind.

Games might be more of an issue but I've not tried that yet....can't wait to try HL2 at 1280x720 on a 27" screen :D

3. Da_Rude_Baboon

Da_Rude_Baboon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +55
    From my expierience of using LCD monitors for PC games then yes you will notice it. As a rule anything over 16ms will produce lots of ghosting. Make sure you demo though as response times can be misleading as they are quite often messaged by the marketing department.

4. ianh64

ianh64

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63