• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

First proper attempt at landscape photography

PKW

Standard Member
Hi there,

I hope everyone had a great Easter

I've had a DSLR now for around 10 months, it is the Canon 550D and i'm absolutely loving it.

Whilst on holiday last week I had my first proper attempt at some landscape photography. This, I think, is my best image. I used a polarising filter to bring out the blue in the sky which I think has worked well. As i'm new to this sector of photography I would be really grateful if you could give me some feedback and areas to improve.

Cheers,

Phil

Attachments

• Durham 2011 567.jpg
    Durham 2011 567.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 127

BluChrome

That's a nice composition.

Can you give the EXIF data for the capture? Looks like a wide'ish aperture as it's not sharp front to back.
If you are looking for a sharp landscape you need to be shooting with a high aperture, which may require a tripod with your filter reducing available light.

PKW

Standard Member
That's a nice composition.

Can you give the EXIF data for the capture? Looks like a wide'ish aperture as it's not sharp front to back.
If you are looking for a sharp landscape you need to be shooting with a high aperture, which may require a tripod with your filter reducing available light.

The EXIF data is:

Focal length: 20mm
Exposure: 1/125
Aperture: 5.63
F number: f7.1
ISO: 100

Perhaps I got the aperture settings slightly wrong?

f6cvalkyrie

Hi Phil,

the image has a lot of good caracteristics : composition, colour, exposure, use of pol-filter, all goes well.

What I regret is the focus. The tree (it's the main subject, isn't it ?) is not in critical sharp focus. Focus seems to be quite a bit behind the tree.