First projector - new budget projector or used good projector

Irenouz

Novice Member
Hi,

I am a projector newbie and I’ve been looking for a projector for a while now but still haven’t gotten one... every time I settle on a model I get swayed again so I was hoping that maybe some of you have some advice for a first time buyer?

initially I wanted a new budget projector somewhere around £500. My top choices were:

BenQ w1050 but I couldnt find it on the BenQ website. I also tried searching for w1090, w1110 and w1200 but I kept stumbling across websites saying that these models are “discontinued”.
Epson eh-tw650 - everything looks good with this one except for the contrast ratio. Read a lot of comments on the less strong black levels.
BenQ th-585 - very Little information but the reviews I’ve read were quite good
Optoma hd27e - a bit pricier but seems great except for a lot of reviews complaining about defects after months of use
Optoma hd143x/hd146x - seems like a great option but the countless reviews on the bad colors and rainbow effect got me worried

Then I saw a lot of threads recommending used Sony hw40es or jvc x3/x30 for around £500. I’m a bit worried buying second hand but the projectors look great and a lot of positive purchasing experiences as well.

My criteria are:
Price: £400-600
I’m setting up the projector above my bed on a shelf. The distance to the opposite wall is around 2.7-3m. The shelf isn’t too high so it would be 10cm above my head if I sat up straight. Ideally not very noisy since the projector would be very close to my head.
My room has sun blocking roller blinds which shuts out a lot of the light but on the edges there is still a bit of light coming through.
I would mainly use this to watch movies and potentially in the future play some games.

Any advice or input is highly welcome!

Thank you!

kbfern

Distinguished Member