1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Projection

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Pyara, Jun 11, 2002.

1. Pyara

Pyara

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie at projectors, in fact I thought they were old out!!!

Until my uncle lent me his projector which he very rarely uses now, I attached it to my digibox and watched last Fridays footie on it, I was job-smacked, I hope you good folks can answer a few questions for me....

I currently have a philips 36" widescreen sony DD/DTS surround, Sky + & Toshiba SD-k320 DVD player.

1) The project I was using is a few years old and had a noisy fan, am I correct in presuming newer models have more silent fans?

2) The projecter had one lens at the front, am I correct in pressuming that top-spec models have three, R G B?

3) LUNS- I think this is how bright the lens actually is, the higher this figure the less dark the room needs to be, hence go for a model with a high LUNS figure?

4) Contrast Ratio- The higher this figure the more the difference between a bright and dark colour/area will be apparent, hence go for a model with a high contract ratio.

5) Resolution- This is the actual screen area, the higher this figure the better the image will look.

6) Widescreen- as an owner of a widescreen television I would obviously want a true anamorhpic lens, is there such a thing or do all projectors have a "wide screen mode"?

Is there anything else I should look out for, I have budget of between £4,000 to £5,000, anyone have any suggestions (please could you state the model no). The reason for the high budget is because I was initially thinking of a 42" plasma. P.S. That budget is for the screen and projector, I already have all the rest of the AV KIT.

I know this is a bit long-winded, but any help would be sincerely appreciated.

2. LV426

LV426