1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First problem on my plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bowler, Dec 9, 2004.

  1. bowler

    bowler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Perhaps the plasma gurus can advise me on this or at least tell me what is happening.

    When I look closely at my screen (Hitachi) I sometimes see a column of tiny red dots down the extreme left edge of the picture.Sometimes they appear to flash.

    This problem is intermittent but I have seen it on all inputs that I use.

    Is this a warranty job or could an outside influence be at work?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. bowler

    bowler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    No takers on this one?

    This is no show stopper because I can only see the problem from close in and sometimes it isn't there at all.

    I wish I knew what was happening though.
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I'll risk the flak then. It does sound like a fault. If you can duplicate it for the engineer you would be on firm ground for a repair/replacement, depending on the age of the panel of course.
     
  4. bowler

    bowler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply MAW.

    I don't really want a replacement cos this one doesn't buzz.

    One final point, when I visit a web site via my Netgem freeview box the problem ceases [this works every time].

    When I go back to TV it appears again!!!!????
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It must be picking up interference from macrovision or something like that. Are you using RGBor YUV from netgem? If YUV you could clip off all the non 'used' pins from the scart plug, leave just the RGB pins. See if that helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...